Underrated Books

Screen Shot 2015-12-26 at 23.50.28

Hello everyone! I originally saw this over on TheOrangutanLibrarian’s blog and thought it was cool. I feel like we don’t talk enough about underrated books on our blogs, so I am going to make it into a tag- just share with us your top underrated books. Please link back to both this post and TheOrangutanLibrarian’s post. I tag Anthony @aVeryAwkwardBlog, Cristina @MyTinyObsessions and Aimal @Bookshelves and Paperbacks.

#1: Rook by Sharon Cameron

Screen Shot 2015-12-21 at 21.44.41

Now, I know this isn’t completely unheard of or whatever, but I feel like it isn’t talked about enough. This book was absolutely incredible. I will be doing a review on it soon (hopefully). This book is a YA Science Fiction which reads to me more like a high fantasy, but isn’t. It is complicated to explain. It is kind of like a regressed future, or an alternate reality victorian era but it is sci-fi. It follows a world after a shift in polars that throws off technology and the characters and everything are absolutely incredible. And there are corsets. If you didn’t know, I have a slightly strange obsession with the Victorian era and corsets… yeah, it is strange.

#2: Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 14.36.34

Another one that isn’t really unheard of. The author is certainly very popular, but most people don’t talk about this series (well, it is only one book at the moment but eventually it will be two books) and it is a shame because it is fantabulous. It is, so far, the only book I’ve read by Brandon Sanderson (which I plan on changing very soon) but I’m surprised more people don’t talk about it, even though it was released in like 2007 or something. This book is Adult High Fantasy which, according to Goodreads, takes place in the same world as all of his other books. It has a lot of political drama and a variety of interesting plot lines. Part of the book follows Siri, a young princess, who is thrust into a political situation her older sister had been training for her whole life without warning. The magic system in this book is based off of colours and the whole thing is just amazing and intriguing and interesting.

#3: DarkIsle by D.A. Nelson

dark_isle_smallNow, this has actually won an award, but it still hasn’t received enough attention and certainly not internationally or in the blogosphere. This is a Middle Grade fantasy about Morag and some strange creatures and some strange happenings that take her away from the home that was never really home and thrust her into a world of magic, danger and adventure. This is the first book in a trilogy, the second book being entitled ‘DarkIsle: Resurrection’ and the third ‘DarkIsle: The Final Battle’. I have not yet read DarkIsle: The Final Battle but fully intend to do so in the new year.

#4: A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 23.25.58This is a historical fiction novel that was originally aimed at adults but was rereleased for the YA market (content didn’t change, just who they were marketing for) and to be honest, both markets fit the book. I absolutely adore this book. It follows an eighteen year old girl from Cambridge called Harriet as she navigates the waters of dreams, romance, expectations, family and travelling to new continents. Harriet’s father is a classics professor and he and Harriet’s aunt have very strict ideas about Harriet’s future, so they aren’t happy when she is offered a place in a dancing troupe going to Brazil (Harriet is an enthusiastic ballet dancer). This follows Harriet through one of the first major decisions of her life as she becomes her own person and finally takes control of her own life.

#5: Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullay Hunt

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 22.15.30

This is an incredibly important Middle Grade contemporary novel about dyslexia and accepting yourself and allowing yourself to be helped. It was inspiring, heart-warming and tear jerking. I was particularly affected by this book because of my sister, who is about a year older than the main character in this book- Ally- and also severely dyslexic. It broke my heart, repaired it and restored my faith in humanity all at the same time. More than being about dyslexia and what that means, it is a book of friendship, of family and of a teacher-student bond to be cherished.

#6: The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge

873903This is a classic. A beautiful, beautiful children’s classic filled with magic. It is about growing up, what it means, faith in imagination, romance, friendship, family and developing as a person. It is about duty and grudges and long-held feuds and how everything has a meaning and a place and a purpose. This book follows Maria, a young girl (12 or so, I believe) who has been newly orphaned and is heading out to live with her Uncle whom she has never met with only her governess for company. She is headed out to Moonacre where a legacy awaits her that won’t leave her alone.

#7: One Hundred Names by Cecelia Ahern

15732422-_uy200_Another author that is not that unknown, but I honestly haven’t heard anybody talk about this book on booktube or in the book blogosphere. I have done a full review on this book which can be found here. This is an adult contemporary which follows the story of Kitty who works for a magasine. She also worked for a television show as a reporter and when she presented with her first serious case- two women accusing a teacher of sexual harassment, if I remember correctly, she jumped on the chance to actually talk about something worthwhile. Turns out, the women were lying. Poof goes her job on TV. Poof goes her reputation. Hello lawsuits, threats and attacks on her soon-not-to-be-hers apartment. She only still has her job at the magasine because its owner, Constance, is her friend. And has faith in her. The only problem? Constance is dying. Before she dies, Kitty asks her what the one thing she always wanted to write was. This is a story of self-discovery, stories, inspiring people, strength, betrayal, friendship and happiness from a most unlikely source.

#8: Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 01.33.10I’m not sure how popular this book actually is but I never hear anyone talk about it, so here I am including it. This was originally marketed as ‘Teen Fantasy’ but I’m going to go with Middle Grade. This is the first book in a five book fantasy series following the children of a family and a boy called Will intermittently, the children being the sole focus of this first book. There are deadly enemies, strange Uncles, nighttime adventures, riddles, old maps, tides and ancient artefacts to be discovered, so if you haven’t already read this book…. it is just amazing, let me tell you that. It incorporates a lot of Welsh folklore as well, which is something you don’t see much of.


ONE QUICK ANNOUNCEMENT: I HAVE A NEW FEATURE, READERS RECOMMENDATIONS, WHICH NEEDS YOUR INPUT, SO IF YOU READ PLEASE CLICK HERE. DECEMBER’S TOPIC IS HOLIDAY RECOMMENDATIONS, BUT I AM GOING TO POSTPONE IT TO NOVEMBER SO BE SURE TO LET ME KNOW YOUR FAVOURITE HOLIDAY READS. JANUARY’S TOPIC IS BOOKS UNDER 200 PAGES.

Sorry for the caps lock. Well, that is it for now. It is currently very early on the 28th of December and if my notes do not lie to me (and I sure hope they don’t, otherwise this would be very embarrasing) it is a fellow blogger’s birthday today. Happy Birthday Cátia! If you don’t know who Cátia is, I definitely recommend checking out her blog, she is a wonderful blogger. Happy reading and be happy! Keira x

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Cátia says:

    Thank you so much Keira! Your notes are completely right 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Yay!!! Happy Birthday!!!! 🎂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome! Love that you did this! 😀 Company of Swans is the only one on this list I’ve read- and I absolutely loved it! I’ve heard of Rook and Fish In a Tree- they’re both on my tbr- glad to hear them recommended so highly 🙂 I also have Over Sea, Under Stone on there- but since I hadn’t heard anything about it, I hadn’t bothered looking into getting a copy- now I think I have to! I also want to try all the other books on this list too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Ooh yeah!! Thanks. Rook and Fish In A Tree are in my top books of the year. Over Sea and Under Stone is one of my favourites from when I was younger. All of the books on the list are absolutely amazing and I’d love to hear what you think of them if you read them!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome! 🙂 Thanks for the recommendations!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          No problem 😀

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, I’m so glad to see someone mention The Little White Horse – it’s one of my favourite books of all time, but seems to go so unnoticed. I also love A Company of Swans. Great picks – I’ll have to check out some of the others. X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you. Yes, the little white horse is sorely under appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. curiousdaisy says:

    I’m currently reading the Mistborn trilogy and it’s amazing. I have to check out Warbreaker. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! I got the first book in the mistborn trilogy for Christmas so hopefully I can start it soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

