Bookmas Day 11 and 12

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 16.56.22Hello everyone and welcome to the last day of Bookmas!!! I didn’t get to yesterday’s prompt, so I’m going to do it today. I am also going to do today’s prompt. A wrap up might come tomorrow, but most likely in the few days after that (although I will be posting tomorrow, as I explained in my Advent post).


Day 11: ON THE ELEVENTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME… ELEVEN VILLAINS VILLAINING!!!

  1. Arboynn Hamel (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas) Arobynn is interesting. Really, really interesting. And sneaky. And multidimensional and mysterious and unpredictable, to an extent. Which is why I like him.
  2. The Komizar (The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson) The Komizar fascinates me, intrigues me and confuses me. He is very morally ambiguous and interesting, which is why I love him so much.
  3. Lord Voldemort (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling) Pure Evil.
  4. Queen Cersei (A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin)  Another pure evil one, but with a bit more human in her, Cersei makes for an interesting yet somewhat annoying villain.
  5. The Insidious Humdrum (Carry On by Rainbow Rowell).I like how the dynamic with this villain changes overtime, it really  undergoes some serious development, which is always good to see in a book. I won’t say anymore because I don’t want to spoil anything, but if you’ve read the book you should know what I am talking about.
  6. The Red Queen (The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen) Another morally amiguous villain who’s relationship with the protagonist undergoes some serious development… see a theme here?
  7. The Curse (The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh) The first of a non-human protagonist, the curse in this book is really interesting and if I were to say anymore I would be spoiling practically the whole book, so I’m just going to stop talking.
  8. Dyslexia (Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullay Hunt) Possibly the biggest reason I loved this ‘villain’ is because my sister also struggles with dyslexia and it was wonderful to see the protagonist begin to use her dyslexia to her advantage, it was wonderfully heartwarming, to say the least.
  9. Unknown (Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson) Unknown is not a person or a concept in this book. I couldn’t really pinpoint one or two or even three or four clear villains in this book which is one of the things I loved about it. In life, it isn’t obvious what or who the problem is, which made this book more realistic in a way and also made for a rather spectacularly complicated plotline.
  10. Twin’s Mistakes (I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson) The mistakes the twins make in this book definitely haunt them, but it warmed my heart and made me cry to see them work through them, which lead to my absolute love of this book.
  11. Kitty’s Bad Reputation (One Hundred Names by Cecelia Ahern) Well, the way she felt about her reputation anyway. She was so scared of it that she began to second guess herself and it also had an impact on the mission she had throughout the course of the book, which gave her added pressure. The way she fought through it and made something of herself was inspiring.

Day 12: ON THE TWELFTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME…. 12 AMAZING BOOKBLOGGERS/BOOKTUBERS!!!

Obviously, these are not in any particular order but they are alternated blogger-booktuber-blogger-booktuber. These are just book bloggers and booktubers

  • Anthony @aVeryAwkwardBlog

He doesn’t do solely book related content, but a fair bit is (a fair bit isn’t but it still counts) and he is infectiously funny, I definitely recommend checking out his blog.

  • Sasha @abookutopia

A booktuber with an infectious smile, an unrivalled enthusiasm and some of the most brilliant reading recommendations, Sasha’s channel always makes me laugh, cry or just generally brings a smile to my face. Also, she is dyslexic, just like my sister, and she is proof that anyone can overcome their difficulties and enjoy reading, which I find really inspiring!

  • Cristina @MyTinyObsessions

A blogger who does not only talk about books but also travelling and TV, Cristina heralds from Spain and Portugal and her Book Travelling Thursdays always make me laugh at how she bemoans the fact that books hardly ever come out in Portuguese.

  • Christine @polandbananasbooks

Another booktuber with an infectious personality, Christine is over-the-top and a little obnoxiously exuberant, but in the best possible way and it really gives her a certain charm.

  • Cátia @TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch

Cátia is just a generally good blogger who’s posts always give me new ideas about books to read.

  • Zoë @readbyzoe

Zoë is a booktuber who reads a lot of contemporary, where most of the other booktubers on my list read mostly fantasy and so she definitely offers something different to my list.

  • Josie @Josie’s Book Corner

Josie is a blogger with an opinion and apart from having excellent books to talk about, she also has many interesting discussion topics, like the Sex in Books talk which inspired one of my own posts as well as one of Cristina’s.

  • Kat @Katytastic

Kat is a writing-reading combo. She never fails to make me smile and her bookshelves… are very full.

  • TheOrangutanLibrarian 

TheOrangutanLibrarian is a blogger with a varied interest of books who has read some of the books that I have enjoyed and no one else seems to talk about.

  • Regan @PeruseProject

Regan reads more historical fiction than most of the other booktubers on my list and again, this sets her apart. Apart from this she also has excellent taste in Adult fantasy which puts her high up on my list of subscribed booktubers.

  • Hailey @hailsheartnyc

This mastermind is behind the read-a-thon which is Bookmas, which automatically guarantees her a spot here (this is a Bookmas post, after all). Apart from that, she also has really nice lighting her videos and good content as well.

  • Yesy @thebookvagrant

Is Yesy her name? That is what I got off of twitter. I like her largely because she responded to my comment on one of her discussion videos (she names her discussions Tea Talks, which definitely appeals to my love of tea, too).


That is it for tonight, I think. I might post something else but probably not until tomorrow. Yes, I will be posting on Christmas Day. As always, happy reading and feel free to follow me on Twitter @Rogan_Keira.

Merry Christmas and a wonderful end to bookmas,

Keira x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

