Series I Want to Start Next Year | Top Five Wednesday

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 15.27.55

Hello everyone! It has been a while since I did a Top 5 Wednesday… but I’m doing this week’s!!! If you would like to participate in Top 5 Wednesday, please visit the Goodreads group here. This weeks topic is Series I Want to Start in 2016.


Before I give you my rundown of books, I wanted to briefly hand out some honourable mentions. There were so, so many books on my list but I managed to narrow it down to ten. And then 8. And then I ranked those eight. I am going to give honourable mentions for #6-#10, so here goes from 10 to 6: The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, The Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare, the Temeraire series by Naomi Novik, the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson and the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo.


#5: The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 16.21.00

This new series from Rick Riordan will have five books and is coming out May 3rd 2016. It takes place after the events of The Blood of Olympus, so I’ll have to finish the Heroes of Olympus series first…

The first book is called ‘The Hidden Oracle‘. The series, from what I can tell, will follow a disgraced Apollo, made mortal by Zeus and seeking refuge in Camp Half Blood.

 


#4: Blood of Gods and Royals by Eleanor Herman

There will be two books in this series as well as one novella. The first book is Legacy of Kings, the second will be titled Empire of Dust and is coming out June 28th 2016. The novella, Voice of Gods, takes place before the first book. This is a fantasy series mixed with historical fiction.


#3: The Witchlands by Susan Dennard

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 16.31.33This is going to be a four book fantasy series, the first book of which is entitled Truthwitch and comes out January 5th 2016. From the series synopsis, I know that it is set in a world where three empires rule and everyone is born with a gift known as witchery. There is a treaty that is about to end and an imminent war, so it all sounds very exciting and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

 


#2: The Lotus Wars by Jay Kristoff

This trilogy has been around for a while, I think. The first book is called Stormdancer, the second Kinslayer and the last Endsinger. It is a fantasy series set in Asia or an asian type place with a kickass female lead, from what I can tell. I really don’t know much about this, but it seems really, really cool.


#1: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

There are five books in this series including two novellas. The first book is called Snow Like Ashes, the second is Ice Like Fire and the third, coming out in Autumn 2016, is entitled Frost Like Night. The first novella (not pictured here), Icicles Like Kindling, is a tiny 28 page long prequel to the series which, apparently, provides some background information. The second novella, Flames Like Vines, takes place after the second book. All I know about this is that there is some romance, it has something to do with fantastical courts and there are seasons involved.

*The first novella, Icicles Like Kindling, can only be found online (free!!!), so click here if you would like to read it. It can, however, be counted towards a Goodreads challenge as the book is on the website as an ‘ebook’.*


That is it for this top five wednesday! I’ll talk to you later, Keira x

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I`ve always wanted to read Snow Like Ashes for the longest time, I hope you get to read it next year! 🙂

    Like

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! Yes, I’ve been eying it since the summer.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

