NOVEMBER BOOK HAUL AND BUDAPEST TRAVELS

November book haul*budapest travels-1

Hello everyone! So, today I am here to bring you my November Book Haul and to talk about my trip to Budapest. I’m combining these two because I got some stuff in Budapest whilst I was there (some bookish, some not).  For the month of November, I put myself on a thing-buying ban due to the forthcoming holiday season, including Advent, Christmas and my Birthday. However, I did let myself buy things in Budapest as souvenirs and also books in series that I am continuing as well as one pre-order. So, without further ado, let us begin. P.S. I’m not going to show you the non-bookish things I received because I don’t have time and am a bit lazy.


BUDAPEST TRAVELS

FullSizeRender-2 So one of my first highlights of visiting Budapest was the amount of cake I ate. Specifically, Sachertorte (which originates in Vienna, not Budapest). It is a chocolate cake with multiple layer separated by jam and with a chocolate layer on top. This is in the Cafe Szamos. It is also a confectionery.

We also did a lot of a sightseeing (or as much as we could fit into three days or so, anyway. Below are some pictures of some of the sights we saw. The Opera House, not pictured below, is especially impressive and you can wonder into the Foyer and have a look at the internal architecture, which is as impressive as the outside architecture.


WHAT I BOUGHT IN BUDAPEST

For reference sake, I bought a gorgeous ring, a handmade necklace and a winter dress in Budapest as well. I actually haven’t read any of the books I bought in Budapest.

TEMERAIRE BY NAMOI NOVIK

 

temeraire-naomi-novik

This is the first book in an Adult fantasy series, of which the ninth book is coming out next year. I was originally drawn to this book because I know about the author. I wanted her other book- Uprooted, but I put that on my Christmas wish list and this story sounded cool as well. It has dragons, ships and a high fantasy historical type setting, so I’m excited.

LIVE THIS BOOK BY TOM CHATFIELD

livethisbookcover

This is only kind of a book. It isn’t a story and it isn’t non-fiction either. It is one of those books where there are things for you to fill in and do. There is also quotes scattered throughout. The idea behind this book was to free yourself from technology, but actually I just picked it up because I liked the quotes and thought some of the prompts were cool.

THE ICE DRAGON BY GEORGE R.R. MARTIN

23627690-_uy200_

Yes, the sticker thing is removable. This is a middle grade novel set in the same world as A Song of Ice and Fire- I think before the main series, but I’m not sure. It is a standalone and you don’t have to read ASOIAF to read this. It is a really short book and filled with beautiful full page illustrations which really add an atmospheric touch.

LIBRARY OF SOULS BY RANSOM RIGGS

library-of-souls-by-ransom-riggs

Unfortunately, the sticker on this one does not come off. This is the only book in this trilogy that I have the hardcopy of (I have the others on Kindle, but I am going to get the Graphic Novel versions of them in hardcopy) and I love how it feels. I have the paperback, but it is heavy, which I like and the pages are a little bit grey. They feel nice and cool and the detailing along the bottom of the pages and around the title on the cover is gorgeous. The pictures are really interesting, too. I won’t be reading this one for awhile as I plan on rereading the first two in graphic novel format first and the second one doesn’t come out as a graphic novel until October 2016. If I want to read it before then, I will need to look up a summary of Hollow City because I can’t really remember what happens.

THE UNICORN HUNTER BY CHE GOLDEN

17261846

Funny story, this is actually the second book in a series. I haven’t read the first book and I don’t own it either. But that’s okay. Right? It is really short and I can buy the first book. If I don’t like it I can always book swap it at my library next christmas or give it to a friend.


Everything Else

WINTER BY MARISSA MEYER

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 16.06.37

This was a pre-order from my mum (I got her to read the series and she preordered it so I wouldn’t have to pay). I didn’t read it in November but I have now and it was great. This is the fourth and final book in the Lunar Chronicles series (apart from the novella bind up coming out next year). I have the kindle copy of this book, but will possibly be buying the physical form.

CLOCKWORK PRINCE AND CLOCKWORK ANGEL BY CASSANDRA CLARE

These are books two and three of the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. I also got these books in Kindle form. I read both of these books in November.

CITY OF LOST SOULS BY CASSANDRA CLARE

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 07.18.44

This is the fifth book in the Mortal Instruments series. I read this in November and also bought it for my Kindle.


That was it for this post. Sorry about how late it is, but at least I got it up before the long-ish list of hauls that will be coming your way over the next week.

Happy reading, Keira x

 

Leave a Reply

