Bookmas Days 8 & 9

Bookmas

Hello everyone! Welcome back to bookmas. I didn’t post yesterday, for which I am sorry- I got distracted by monopoly. Anyway, today I am here and I am going to complete the prompts for both days eight and nine.


Day 8: ON THE EIGHTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME…. EIGHT FANTASTIC CLASSICS!

  1. Watership Down by Richard Adams. This was probably the first classic that I ever read and enjoyed and I have read it many times since. An all time favourite that never gets old.
  2. The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge. Another one of my earliest classics, the first time I read this book I actually hated it. Upon a reread, I have come to love and adore it for its witty characters, magic filled pages and intriguing family drama.
  3. Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare. I am slightly obsessed by this play. I haven’t read much Shakespeare yet (something which I plan to rectify) but this has been a favourite story of mine since I was a little girl and the original text was just as magically heart breaking as I had hoped.
  4. The Giver by Lois Lowry. Probably the first book I read for school and really enjoyed, this modern classic made me excited about reading books for school.
  5. The Eagle by Alfred, Lord Tennyson is a six line poem which I absolutely adore. It is powerful, tragic and beautiful all at once.
  6. The Green Dwarf by Charlotte Brontë was the book that made me feel like I could enjoy literature from the 1800s again, after my attempt at reading Pride and Prejudice when I was nine, so for that I will be ever grateful. Charlotte wrote the short book when she was 17, but it wasn’t published until after she died.
  7. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I am actually currently reading this book- I am on page 149, which is why it isn’t higher on my list. So far, I am really enjoying the book.
  8. The Three Little Men in the Forest by the Brothers Grimm. This is one of the stories in the ‘Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm’ collection that I am part way through reading, and is the original text translated into English. I wrote at the top of this ‘Should be more well known’. I highly recommend you check out the collection and this story in particular.

Day 9: ON THE NINTH DAY OF CHRISTMAS MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME… NINE KICKASS LADIES!

Before I start my countdown here, I wanted to quickly mention that I tried to pick some not-so-typical/common/well known ladies for this: of course my list would otherwise include Hermione (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows), Aelin and Manon (Queen of Shadows), Shahrzad (The Wrath and the Dawn), Daenerys and Arya (A Clash of Kings), Kestrel (The Winner’s Crime), Kelsea (The Invasion of the Tearling) and Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Winter (Winter). You might also have noticed by now that I am not necessarily picking the first time a character appears, rather, I am picking the book in which they have been the most kickass up to date. There might be some minor spoilers so… be warned.

  1. Lysandra (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas). So, if any of you haven’t read Queen of Shadows, but have read The Assassin’s Blade, then you might be thinking what???? are you crazy???? but I’m not, she really redeems herself in Queen of Shadows and considering everything that she has to go through, her actions are admirable. I especially like how selfless she can be (spoiler alert: with the girl that she takes under her care, remember?)
  2. Andalie (The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen). Andalie doesn’t get enough credit. She is the handmaiden of Kelsea and she has to deal with all of her shit, not to mention all of the foreseeing stuff and her own kids. She is like, wow.
  3. Luna (Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling). Luna is such a free spirit who doesn’t care what anybody else thinks about her and I think that is an admirable trait in any character. I think she really shines in the fifth book- she is supportive and enthusiastic and optimistic through out.
  4. Nimona (Nimona by Noelle Stevenson). Nimona is such an interesting character- she has a lot to deal with and there are so many mysterious layers to her, but one thing is for sure, she stands up for herself and will tell you who’s boss. She’s quite morally ambiguous, but that is part of her charm.
  5. Siri (Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson). Siri was incredibly brave- she was thrust into a world she had no preparation for, fulfilling responsibilities she thought were going to her sister, dealing with her own struggles, learning about a man who is nothing like he seems- and is her husband- and dealing with a whole load of political drama. I don’t know how she managed it.
  6. Primrose (Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins). Well, we all know Katniss is pretty badass. But what about her sister? She is still really young- she’s about my age in the last book, actually, and she takes so many risks. If you’ve read it you know what I’m talking about.
  7. Jude (I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson). So, for the only contemporary entry into this list, I picked Jude. She has a lot to deal with in terms of past demons, family drama, romance and her life in general that I’m surprised she didn’t just give up and/or explode. But she didn’t and I admire her for that. She made some awful decisions, but she is only human, just like the rest of us.
  8. Despina (The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh). Time for another handmaiden, this time to Shazi, a wife destined to die. Despina lives in the palace of Khalid, a man who takes a different wife every night and kills her in the morning. First of all, that is already hard enough to deal with. And then there is all the secrecy and deeper meanings behind everything that is going on and I think Despina did a wonderful job staying sane as long as she did, let alone remaining a strong, independent and interesting character.
  9. Sophia (Rook by Sharon Cameron). Well, this is kind of an honourary mention considering I am only 13 pages into this book, but I think she has to be pretty bad ass from what I’ve seen as well as caring. Let’s hope this book proves me right.

Wow that was long, but I guess that is what happens when you miss an update for a day when the number of things you have to talk about is so high. This is over 1100 words!

Anyway, I’ll talk to you later,

Keira x

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. LyfWithEm says:

    Monopoly is always a distraction for me 😉

    Like

  2. Maria says:

    I loved Jane Eyre! I just read it this year after putting it off for so long, and it’s really something! I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! Yes, so far it seems pretty incredible.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

