Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth | Book Review

Escape from Witchwood Hollow by jordan elizabeth

Hello everyone! Today I am going to do a long-awaited review. I got this book from the author two and a bit months ago. I actually have not finished this book, unfortunately, for reasons I will explain in a bit.

Now, without further ado, let us begin the review.

-Keira.


Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth
g_3-stars-wht

23351890

Ok, first of all I think some explanation is warranted. I didn’t finish this book. I only got half way through it. Therefore, this is only my opinions on the first half of the book. Why didn’t I finish the book? Well, you’ll find out. Why am I doing a review if I didn’t finish it? Well, usually I wouldn’t review a book I didn’t finish unless I had particularly strong feelings about it, in which case I would make a rant. That isn’t the case with this book. I would just leave this book for the Wrap Up at the end of the month, but this book was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Escape from Witchwood Hollow is a standalone YA Fantasy novel with multiple POVs from multiple different time periods.

Everyone in Arnn – a small farming town with more legends than residents – knows the story of Witchwood Hollow: if you venture into the whispering forest, the witch will trap your soul among the shadowed trees.

After losing her parents in a horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers, fifteen-year-old Honoria and her older brother escape New York City to Arnn. In the lure of that perpetual darkness, Honoria finds hope, when she should be afraid.

Perhaps the witch can reunite her with her lost parents. Awakening the witch, however, brings more than salvation from mourning, for Honoria discovers a past of missing children and broken promises.

To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.

How deep into Witchwood Hollow does Honoria dare venture?

So, let me start with the things I did like about this book.

  1. The unique concept: I found the idea behind this story original and fresh, which is why I accepted the offer to review the book in the first place.
  2. The cover: I really like the colours used in this cover, they are some of my favourites.
  3. The POV of the witch: It was really interesting to see her personality, backstory etc. and it was one of the more eventful POVs.

And that leads me to the issues I had with this book and why I decided to stop reading.

  1. The main character in the present day POV didn’t seem real enough to me and the little quirkiness she did have seemed to be forced and not a natural part of her personality.
  2. Some of the POV switches were confusing.
  3. For a book under 200 pages, the first half had virtually no content. We got hardly anywhere with the present day POV. For a book with at least 3 POVs, the book is really short.
  4. Something about the writing style just really bothered me and I felt like there was too little backstory- I was pretty lost.

So if I didn’t finish it, why did I give it 3 stars. I gave it three stars because I think the storyline and writing was getting better. I didn’t finish it because it wasn’t getting better fast enough.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

