Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

Hello everyone! A few days ago, the wonderful J. of J. Bookish tagged me in her original tag ‘Seasons of Book Blogging’. Thank you for tagging me! It looks really fun and I look forward to doing it!


 

HOW IT WORKS:

  • Thank the creator (so she can see all of your answers!) and the person who tagged you.
  • Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there!
  • State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.
  • Tag whomever you’d like when you’re finished.. or else you’ll be “it” forever.
  • Have fun, of course!

NOVEMBER is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

I think that this is referring to Thanksgiving, which, as I am not American, I do not celebrate. I am, however, British and we have something called Guy Fawkes Day, which could also be seen as giving thanks, I suppose.

The book I’d like to pick for this one, would have to be The Green Dwarf by Charlotte Brontë. That was the book that re-opened my eyes to the world of 1800s classics such as Jane Austen and, well, the Brontës.

When I was about nine or ten, I decided to try and read Pride and Prejudice. I got through the first two chapters and found the characters s frivolous and stupid. I don’t think that I stuck it out long enough or that I understood enough about the time period when I first tried to read it, for me to be able to really appreciate it. Now, though, after reading The Green Dwarf and enjoying Charlotte Brontë’s writing style, I am reading Jane Eyre and hope to continue to read some more classics into the new year.


 

DECEMBER is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 07.57.41 This beautiful special edition of Watership Down by Richard Adams- it is gorgeous and will forever hold a special place in my heart.


 JANUARY begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not.

I know I made resolutions, but I can’t remember what they were, so I have a feeling I probably haven’t kept it. Next year, though, I want to seriously make some and keep them!


FEBRUARY is the month for relationships. Name your favourite book relationship: romantic, platonic or familial- your choice!

I’m going to do one of each, I guess, with one hit. I love the relationship dynamic between Aelin, Rowan and Aedion. I’m not going to say which book they’re from, because if you have read the book then you’ll know what I mean, if you’re reading earlier books…. spoilers!


MARCH is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

Either Throne of Glass or Harry Potter, for sure.

tumblr_nityqkynuf1tq4of6o1_500


APRIL is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

Room by Emma Donoghue. Enough said. (Actually, it isn’t. If you want to know my thoughts, have a look at this post I made.)  I really hated this book.


 MAY is the month where flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 22.15.30Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullay Hunt. I thought this book would be nice, interesting, important to read (this book is about a girl who has dyslexia- like my sister). It turned out to be so much more and moved me to tears, which is why I nominated it for the Middle Grade category of the Goodreads Choice Awards.


JUNE is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre you like to read when you just need to check out.

somewhere-else

I actually have finals in June… so not so time-to-take-a-break for me, but anyway… Fantasy, for sure. Who wouldn’t love to be transported to a different world?


 JULY is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks.

Another American holiday I don’t celebrate! I do, however, love fireworks. Let’s say it is a time for joy? A book that made me see fireworks was… Carry on by Rainbow Rowell. I freaking love that book.


AUGUST is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

just-another-fan-girl-sweety63-30977292-500-227

Erika Johansen. I love her Tearling series. I also just found out that there is a movie being made out of this (like literally just now) and Emma Watson is signed on as the executive producer and as Kelsea. I so want to see that! I guess she kind of is a bit of the next hottest thing?


SEPTEMBER is the time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

I go back to school in the middle of August. Anyway, The Giver, for sure. Love that book.


 

 OCTOBER is a time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

Is it weird that I don’t like Halloween? Maybe. But, like J., I would have to go with Danaerys because she is freaking amazing. And gorgeous.


That’s it! This was really fun, so thanks once again for tagging me J!

-Keira x

I tag:

Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions

Cátia @The Girl Who Read Too Much

Em @LyfWithEm

Josie @Josie’s Book Corner

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. LyfWithEm says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      No problem!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. curiousdaisy says:

    I’m so doing this tag too hehe 😀 Seems fun. I’ll consider myself tagged 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Link me so I can check it out 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

