Update | Blogging, Writing, Life

Hello everyone! So, as promised, here is a quick run through of some things you should probably know or might possibly be interested in.


Life Update:

I’m Junior House Captain!

So my school recently introduced a house system and I’m the junior house captain, along with my friend Sunny. Our house is called Carter, after one of the founders of the school. So far we have been awarded a ‘Most Spirited House’ award, came 1st place in Sports Day, 2nd Place for Spirit Day, 1st Place for 6th Grade Rugby, 1st place for 8th Grade Rugby and 4th place for 7th grade rugby. It’s very rewarding.

I am preparing for a parent’s showcase in my dance class!

It’s nothing big, but it does mean that I need to pay special attention to not injuring myself!

Last night I celebrated Bonfire Night!

Unless your British, chances are you don’t know about this celebration. Basically, a while ago, there was a protestant King in the UK. There was a group of Catholics who were planning to blow him and all of the important officials and other members of the royal family at the opening of parliament (he wasn’t very nice to the Catholics). They had placed a load of barrels of gunpowder under the building in the cellar and left, except for Guy Fawkes who stayed to light the gunpowder when it was time.

Everything was going according to plan, but it was a plague year and the opening of parliament kept being put off. One of the plotters wrote a letter to an important, obviously quite close, family member, telling them to stay away from the Opening of Parliament. No one stayed away from the opening, so this man took the letter to the authorities, who investigated and found Guy Fawkes.

That night, people held bonfires burning the figure of a man. Some people say they were burning the King, some Guy Fawkes and some (in a few extremist places in the country) thought they were burning the Pope. In any case, the King rode through the streets of London and thought that they were celebrating his survival and so he made it law that every year on the 5th of November you had to have a bonfire burning a figure of a man.

About 300 years later, someone stumbled across the law and, naturally, it was removed, but it had become a tradition and so we still do it. I mean, who wouldn’t want to dunk apples, have a bonfire, watch fireworks, get together with friends and eat treacle toffee?

I went to Cirque du Soleil’s Varekai last weekend.

It was amazing.


Blogging Update:

My October Wrap Up….

I’m super behind, I know, and I wanted to post it days ago, but Wrap Ups take ages to write and I honestly haven’t had the time, what with my insane amount of schoolwork and my participating in NaNoWriMo (buddy me 😉 ). I have written about 1/3 of it. I’ll try and get it up this weekend, but it might be next weekend before it’s up, who know.

I have a lot of posts planned but….

I probably won’t get to them soon. I just don’t have time, as I’ve mentioned before.


Writing Update:

Expect a copy of my memoir that I wrote for English sometime this week.

That is currently my go to when I am running out of ideas/time for blog posts (posting something I had to do for school, that is).

NaNoWriMo Update!

I will be posting about my progress and including some snippets from my book every Saturday. In the meantime, you can stalk me on the NaNoWriMo website (add me as a buddy here) or check up on my word count using the Widget in at the top of the sidebar.

Meeting with The Writing Centre

On Thursday lunchtime, my teacher has made an appointment for her to come with me to the Writing Centre (the writing help/resource place at my school) to discuss what I can do to further my writing and where I could publish some of my writing etc. I will hopefully be able to post about what happens there on Thursday. My English teacher is awesome, by the way.


That’s about it for now. I feel like this was a really long post, but it was quite necessary.

-Keira x

7 Comments Add yours

  1. When you talked about the House-system being introduced, I had this voice that sounded vaguely like Dumbledore in my head say “10 Points to Carter.” hahaha

    Also, I’ve added you on NaNoWriMo (Kat_Impossible) but I am suuuuper behind on my novel. Double up day is coming though, so who knows what’s going to happen 😀
    Happy writing!

    Like

    1. Keira says:

      We’re designing crests and have a house cup and everything and I’m just like ahhhhhh I’m LIVING IN HOGWARTS :)… Unfortunately, teachers can’t award points for good answers etc…. I’m so behind too, the goal for today is 10000 words and I’m only on 6000 and something…. Oh well. As you said, hopefully I can increase it tomorrow but I have an essay to finish and revise as well as a flute assessment and other homework things to do over the weekend…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. THAT IS STILL SO COOL! It totally sounds like a little more of a mundane Hogwarts. So awesome!
        I am not even at 6,000 yet hahaha and I have a birthday party to attend tomorrow, so I am not entirely sure yet. But I’ve somehow made it last year, so I am hoping I will make it again this year. It’s not over ’till it’s over.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Keira says:

          Congrats on last year. At least if you don’t win it you have a good start and some awesome motivation, right?

          Like

          1. Thank you and absolutely! I am still somewhat cautiously optimistic that I’ll make it to 50K, but I mostly just like writing again. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  2. LyfWithEm says:

    Good luck for Nanowrimo – I’m not doing it this year because it’s so time-consuming and I don’t have time, school takes up too much, but I’d love to be doing it. Keep us updated with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Thank you! Yes, it is far too time consuming… 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

