Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | Book Review

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell 

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 10.58.39

5 stars.

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything. (taken from goodreads.) 

This book was everything I wanted and more. The romance was adorable and the relationships were interesting. In the beginning, I thought it was so much like Harry Potter, but it really wasn’t- there were definitely elements of Harry Potter, but the story itself was entirely different and it was really, really enjoyable to read. Baz and Simon are amazing characters and SPOILER ALERT: so incredibly cute as a couple, it is ridiculous. Needless to say, I loved this as much if not more than Fangirl and I think that Rainbow Rowell has amazing talent at writing both Contemporary and Fantasy. The pacing of this book was also nice- with about 150 pages or so I was questioning whether the story would end nicely or whether it would be hastily done, simply because the problems hand’t started to properly be resolved at that point, but the ending was definitely not rushed- it was perfect and adorable and cry-worthy. The world is also beautifully constructed and wonderfully magical, despite some parallels to the one featured in the Harry Potter series.

“At Watford, Magic is just the air we breathe. It’s not what separates us from each other; it’s what keeps us together.”

I really can’t think of anything I didn’t like about this book. I felt like Agatha could perhaps’ve been a little more developed as a character as could the Mage, and there could have been some more foreshadowing towards a certain event at the end- not enough to make it predictable but more than the few hints we got a couple of chapters before the event with the certain male person happened (I put it in such terms in the hopes that those who have read it will understand what I am referring to but those who haven’t will not be spoilt for one of the main points of the story.

“I lean into him, because I’m cold and he’s always warm. And because I like to remind him that I’m not afraid of him.”

Overall, this is a wonderful new edition to my top favourite books of all time. Like seriously- it is amazing and I can definitely find myself re-reading it in the near future.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. aimalfarooq says:

    I agree with you about Agatha and the Mage. I didn’t think they were fleshed out too well, and though I understood the Mage’s importance in the story, I thought Agatha was an unnecessary addition. I also wish we got to see more of the Mage and Simon’s relationship since it’s obvious Simon cared for him, but I don’t know why that was.

    But yes, Simon and Baz’s relationship was adorable. I thought the characters (apart from the two aforementioned) were great too! I’m glad you enjoyed this book so much! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Keira says:

      Yeah, Baz and Simon are adorable. The Mage was horrible too… so corrupt! I feel like if Rainbow Rowell was to write a prequel, we might get some the development needed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

