Top 3 Contemporary Reads

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 18.51.42

Hello everyone! Now, you may or may not know that I am a huge fantasy person. I live, breathe and eat fantasy books. I do, however, also enjoy other genres- I just don’t pick them us often because they aren’t as compelling to me whilst on my shelves. I normally give contemporary books about 4 stars because whilst they’re good, they often don’t give me that magical sense of wow like I get with my fantasy books. Occasionally, though, I come across a contemporary book that blows my mind, and that is what I am going to be sharing with you today. Also, how do you like the new header thing?

#1: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 15.58.16

This is 400-something pages or amazing, heart-wrenching, beautiful torture. It is a story about twins- Noah and Jude- and is told in split POV. Noah’s POV follows the story of when they are 13 and applying to go to an art school. Jude’s POV follows the story of when they are 16. I could not put this book down- all of the characters are incredibly wonderful and dynamic, the plot was interesting and set a good pace and the messages and themes that came across int his book were absolutely spectacular. I could not finish it fast enough- in a good way.

#2: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 15.50.47

This is a story that any book-loving fan-girl-or-boy will be able to relate to. It follows a girl Cath, who writes fan fiction as she goes to university and her twin sister, Wren decides she doesn’t want to room with her and they create their own social circles. It is about social pressure and deciding what kind of person you want to be and the romance is perfect and adorable.

#3: One Hundred Names by Cecelia Ahern

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 15.55.09

This is one that some of you may not have heard of. It is an adult book so it follows a slightly older character- Kitty, who is in her thirties, as she deals with a national news scandal and ambition whilst still trying to keep her old friendships alive. Her current boss, Constance, is in hospital dying of cancer and before she dies she asks Kitty to write the article that she had never had the chance to write. All Kitty has is 100 Names and a few weeks to make a dream article of which she doesn’t know the topic. You follow Kitty through self-discovery and meet some really interesting, intriguing and dynamic characters.

Leave a Reply

