Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Hello everyone! I found this tag on Cristina’s blog @My Tiny Obsessions and thought it looked cool and I had multiple sudden sparks of inspiration so I thought I would do it for you!

-Rogan x

A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE LOVE BUT YOU DIDN’T LIKE

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 07.05.53I really, really didn’t like this book. I only read 50 pages before setting it down. If you want to find out why, exactly, I hated it so much you can check out my review/rant here.

I also really don’t like any of Tolkien (The Hobbit or the Lord of the Rings). I read a bit of The Hobbit and really couldn’t get into it and I listened to my mum read bits of The Lord of the Rings to my sister, and I really just didn’t like it. I’m not sure if it is the writing style, the characters or the just the general story that doesn’t appeal to me, but I won’t be reading it anyhow.

A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES EVERYBODY HATES BUT YOU LIKED

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 07.09.55I really did enjoy the Matched trilogy by Ally Condie. Yes, I hated (and I mean hated) Crossed- it was so boring, but I stuck it through and ended up enjoying Reached. It certainly isn’t my favourite series ever but I do think that people give up on it too early because it does have a really bad case of ‘second book syndrome’ going on.

.

A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE CHARACTER DIDN’T END UP WITH THE PERSON YOU WANTED OR AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE

There are a few OTPs that I’m not completely on board with (Cinder and Kai, for example) but I am generally pretty easy to please, so I don’t really have answer for this one. Maybe Cinder and Kai’s relationship just hasn’t been built enough or maybe it is overshadowed by Scarlet and Wolf, Cress and Thorne.

A POPULAR BOOK GENRE YOU HARDLY REACH FOR

Contemporary or Historical Fiction. I actually really enjoy both genres when I read them, I just tend not to pick them up as much and favour fantasy book instead.

A POPULAR OR BELOVED CHARACTER YOU DON’T LIKE

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 07.28.48Again, I am pretty easy to please. Maxon from the Selection trilogy is the best I can think of for this one- he just seemed a bit to complacent and static for my tastes (and my friend who is coming over tonight is going to absolutely kill me for saying that- she loves him).

A POPULAR AUTHOR YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO

I can’t really answer this one because a lot of popular authors that I don’t like, I have only read one book from (there are so many books, no point wasting time) or I have liked them to some extent. (Well, actually, now that I think about it, I kind of answered this in the first category- I can’t get in to Tolkien.)

A POPULAR BOOK TROPE YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING

I don’t have any book trope that I don’t like if it is executed in a becoming way. So maybe my book trope that I am tired of seeing is book tropes being portrayed or used poorly or unoriginally (that’s a word, right?)/ ineffectively.

It’s not about what you say, it’s about how you say it. -my mother.

A POPULAR SERIES YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 07.19.23The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken, The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey, These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner- the stories just don’t appeal to me. Maybe someday in the future they will, but for now they are not going to be read by my eyes.  I don’t plan on finishing the Heroes of Olympus series either, simply because I lost track slightly, wasn’t enjoying it as much anymore and can’t be bothered to go through the stress of figuring out where I am and how much I need to re-read, so I’m just going to stick with Rick Riordan’s new series about the Norse gods.

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE” BUT WHAT MOVIE/ TV SHOW DID YOU LIKE MORE THAN THE BOOK?

The Percy Jackson series! I loved it- the characters were so perfectly portrayed, the adventures were really brought to life and the special effects made it far more vibrant than the book….

I’m kidding. The Percy Jackson series was an awful adaptation. I think that the Hunger Games adaptations are as good as the books, but not better.

Leave a Reply

