Reader Problems Book Tag

on

Hello everyone! I found this tag on My Tiny Obsessions and though it looked really fun so I decided to do it. I was going to do the Top 10 Tuesday for today but couldn’t think of anything so I’m not going to.

  • You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How do you decided which book to read next?

Based on my mood. I’m a massive mood reader and I can’t read something I’m not in the mood for. If I don’t want to read it I won’t read it. If there are multiple books that I want to read I will use the Pick Five thread for Hooked On Books members to allow someone to pick for me.

  • You’re halfway through a book and just not loving it. Do you quit it or are you committed?

It depends. If it is the second book in a series (or well any book in a series except for the first one) I will typically continue reading and if I am feeling meh about it I will generally finish it. I will DNF a book if the concepts, plot or characters are annoying me or I cannot bring myself to continue. Also, if the grammar or writing style is annoying me- especially with self-published authors who sometimes don’t properly edit their works.

  • The end of the year is coming and you are so close to finishing your goodreads reading challenge but so far way. Do you try and catch up or do you give up?

This is my first year doing the challenge so I don’t know for sure but I would obviously keep on reading and adding things to my challenge and hopefully complete it. Maybe I would put down some of the longer, more complex books down and read some quick and easy reads to bring up the number.

  • The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

I get frustrated for a bit but get over it quickly and either buy the physical copy anyway or buy it on my Kindle if I don’t like the cover change.

  • Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Chances are, one of my friends didn’t like it either if it is a popular book. If not, the internet is my go-to place.

  • You’re reading a book and are about to start crying in public. What do you do?

Cry in public. I don’t have a problem with it.

  • A sequel for a book you loved just came out but you can’t remember what the previous book was about (it’s been a long time). What do you do- do you look up a quick synopsis or re-read the book?

Re-read the book for sure. I know some people have problems re-reading books but I actually really enjoy the experience.

  • You do not want anyone borrowing your books. How do you say no when they ask?

Depending on the person, I don’t really mind lending my books out but if I do want to say no, I’ll just tell them that either a) the book means a lot to me and I don’t want to give it to someone else or b) I need it for some project or another (which are the only two scenarios in which I won’t give a book away. Unless it is my sister, then she requires supervision. Once, she chewed half of the cover of one of my books. It was disgusting.)

  • You’ve picked up and put down five books this month. How do you deal with your reading slump?

I usually get reading slumps when I’ve been reading one book for a really long time. Usually, I don’t deal and write a lot of blog posts, distract myself on YouTube and sleep a lot until I decide that I should probably start reading again. I also complain about it a lot, make a nuisance of myself and read other books in the meantime (I get slumps towards specific books more than towards reading in general).

  • There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read. How many do you actually end up buying?

I’ll make a list and number them 1- x and then buy, like, 3-5 of them a month in the order that I’m interested in them. It’s a flexible list, of course. I really, really like lists.

  • After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your bookshelf unread?

This can range from no time to years, it depends on the mood I’m in, my workload, my TBR, books I need to read and what books I’m reading at the time I buy the books. It’s all relative, really.

That is it for today. I tag Anthony @aVeryAwkwardBlog to do this. He was having some issues with his wi-fi so he can do it whenever he can. I also tag Josie from @Josie’s Book Corner because she’s feeling a bit down and said she was having trouble writing blog posts and I always find tags are great for that sort of thing because you have targeted questions to answer. Also, Josie, if you could put a search bar into your blog it would be greatly appreciated, I was looking to see whether you had done this tag (which I still don’t know) and it’s easier if I can just search for it 😉 (maybe you do have one and it is just my computer messing up… I don’t know…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love book tags! I’ll do this one soon for sure. Also, I got wifi again! *yaaay*

    Like

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Whippee! Have fun.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

