September Wrap Up

Okay, this was a pretty rubbish reading month. I read a bit but not nearly as much as I would have liked. I also got pretty much all of my reading done in the second week and none for the rest of the month- I went to Austria with school for the first week and spent the last two weeks reading Clash of Kings, which I have still not finished. But enough complaining, let’s take a look and what happened.

My September TBR (the ones that are struck through are the ones I read):

  1. Where do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson
  2. The Girl In The Steel Corset by Kady Cross
  3. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin
  4. The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm
  5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and Sibohan Dowd
  6. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

(No, I did not include Queen of Shadows in the TBR because I needed to reread Heir of Fire.)

All in all, as far as my TBR goes, I did okay- 3/6 and I am currently reading the three that I didn’t read, although two of them I have been ‘currently reading’ for a few months now…

Now, for my thoughts and the other books I read:

The Girl In The Steel Corset by Kady Cross:

5 stars.

I really enjoyed this book, found the characters interesting and the plot unique. I bought the second book in this series towards the end of the month and hope I will enjoy it just as much. I was bit confused as to where the prequel fitted in before the main story- it didn’t seem to fit right, but that might just be me, who knows? Overall, I gave this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

The Coldest Girl In Coldtown by Holly Black:

5 stars.

I really, really enjoyed this book- I found the concept really beautifully orignial, the plot line unpredictable and the characters intriguing. The family and romantic dynamics in this book are very unique and the side characters are nicely fleshed out. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Deceive by Raine Thomas:

5 stars.

This is the 7th book in the Estilorians series by Raine Thomas. The first book in the series is Becoming. I found that this book followed a very similar plot line to the previous six books but the characters were unique and interesting and it was an easy, enjoyable read.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas:

5 stars. Reread.

This was a reread for me and what can I say but this- I loved it even more than I loved it the first time I read the book. Admittedly, I do find the first part of the story (the first half of Heir of Ash) a little bit… not boring, let’s just say, not much happens but it quickly becomes just as interesting, fast-paced and dynamic as the previous books. I find it really hard to talk about my feelings regarding this series because I feel like everything just slots into place so nicely and that anything I could say might ruin something, you know? I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas:

5 stars.

Another TOG book!!! And I liked it even more than the previous one- it is my favourite book in the series so far and I just can’t wait for book five!!! Now, if you have not yet read this book please do not read the following italicised text. Thank you and you’re welcome!!!! I loved the relationship between Aedion, Rowan and Aelin- I found it really interesting and dynamic and I loved Manon’s development in character, she grew so much in this book and I found Asterin a very interesting character and can’t wait to find out more about her. Whilst writing this post I read a very interesting interview with Sarah J. Maas who said that there was a lesbian relationship hinted at within Manon’s Thirteen but I can’t think who it might be between… what are your thoughts? I encourage you to read the interview, which you can find here. You can read again now if you have not yet read the book. All in all, this was an amazing book and I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness:

5 stars.

This book was written by Patrick Ness but the idea for the story was created by Siobhan Dowd who died before she could write the story. I checked this book out from the library and it took me just under two days to finish. I loved the artwork and the story was interesting and full of important moral questions. All in all, I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas:

5 stars. Reread

Another Sarah J. Maas reread!!! I’m glad I decided to reread this book, I had forgotten a lot about the social system of the fae from the first time I read it. It was better this time around I definitely enjoyed it more. This was a very Maas-y month of reading wasn’t it? πŸ™‚ I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen:

4 stars.

I’m feel very accomplished about this read, considering I have a lot of unread Sarah Dessen books. She is one of those authors who books are very similar so I can’t read them too close together, although I do enjoy them. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stories.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson:

4.5 stars

This was my first ever shot with a graphic novel and I was pleasantly surprised although I vastly prefer novels. I did a post on the topic as well as a review of Nimona which you can find here. I enjoyed the concepts and found the relationship dynamics nicely complex and original. I gave this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.

A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn:

5 stars.

I read this book when taking a break from A Clash of Kings on the day that it arrived. I expected it to take two days but I finished it the night it came- it took me two hours to finish the 300 pages. I really enjoyed the story, despite it not being the most beautifully written book and Alex Flinn’s retellings are still books that I want to read. This is a retelling of Sleeping Beauty. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars, based on pure enjoyment.

So, in reflection, although I didn’t read as much as I usually do, I did have a good reading month in terms of how much I enjoyed the books I read, so I’m not complaining too much. Watch out for a September Haul coming later today or tomorrow and have a great day/night! πŸ™‚ -Rogan x

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Great reading month πŸ˜‰

    So, about the lesbian relationship, remember that scene when all the 13 are meeting and Roland enters the room and attacks them? When Manon is describing those who were affected, she mentions two who are lovers (I don’t recall their names), but she mentions them right before she mentions the demons twins. Ring a bell?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      I remember the scene… I just re-read it again- it was Thea and Kaya. We didn’t get to know much about them in the book but hopefully next book. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

        1. anonymoustallulah says:

          I want to know more about all of the Thirteen. I mean, we know a lot about Manon and Asterin and a little about Sorrell but the others are just sort of names at the moment πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. We also know about the one with all the book’s, who studied with humans (forgot her name…)

            Like

            1. anonymoustallulah says:

              Oh yeah, it started with a G… Ghislaine (but this is why we need to know more about them- so we can remember the names πŸ˜‰ )

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Agreed. There should be a novela or something just about the 13

              Like

            3. anonymoustallulah says:

              That would be awesome.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. curiousdaisies says:

    I managed to push my way through A Clash of Kings. I hope you manage to do so too. The ending is amazing hehe πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      I really am enjoying, it is just taking sooooo long. I will definitely finish it this week or so. I mean, I only have 200 pages left.

      Like

  3. Josephine says:

    Looks like we both had a very Sarah J Maas filled month! And what you said about Queen of Shadows?! So on point. I was so in love with Aedion, Rowan and Aelin, how they were together as a trio, and as duos as well! Aedion and Rowan’s friendship was so awesome, and I love it so much – like with Aedion was willing to sacrifice himself for Rowan? HOLY GOODNESS I MELTED.
    And of course, I ship Rowaelin and will do so until the ends of time, because nothing makes me want to cry with happiness so much as those two *fangirling*. And Aedion and Aelin… I just can’t even. I wanted to see more of them and their loving relationship, ugh when Aelin rescued Aedion, I could hardly contain myself!
    And I think I picked up on the hint of the lesbian relationship when reading Qos!!!! I think I saw it. But I can’t remember the character’s names now.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed A Monster Calls! That book made me sob and cry like a total baby. As for A Court of Thorns and Roses? More swoonworthy Fae males and a story to die for, of course I loved that one!

    Wonderful wrap up! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thank you!! Rowaelin… yes!!!!!! And I love Aedion and Rowan’s friendship, the way it developed was beautiful. Yeah, I reread the page where it mentioned it and it said that it was Thea and Kaya. A Monster Calls was beautiful and ACOTAR…. argh, why is Sarah J. Maas so good at creating characters?!!!!!! Do you prefer Rhysand, Lucien or Tamlin?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Josephine says:

        Rhysand is my favourite, I fell for him almost immediately! Obviously, I have a thing for the big, bad, brooding type of males πŸ˜‰

        Like

        1. anonymoustallulah says:

          Defintely agree with you on that one…. Rowan and Rhysand…. notice how both names start with R?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Josephine says:

            Mmm… coincidence?

            Liked by 1 person

            1. anonymoustallulah says:

              Maybe but knowing Sarah J. Maas….. I don’t know…

              Liked by 1 person

            2. Josephine says:

              Yes, we never know with that amazing lady!

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

