THE ART OF DANCE BOOK TAG: ORIGINAL TAG

Hello everyone! Today I am bringing you an original book tag! Something you probably don’t know about me is that I love to dance. I love to watch people dance too. So I decided, why not combine two things I love in one tag. Result- what you are about to read. Aside from tagging Cristina @My Tiny Obsessions, Sam @A Blast of Random and Bianca @The Ultimate Fan Girl, I tag any of you who want to do this tag, just link back so that I can read your answers. Hope you enjoy,

Rogan x


 

Ballet- A Classic

Ballet has been around for centuries and is still considered one of the most rigorous and beautiful dances in the world.


 

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 20.07.42

 

 

For this category, I picked Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. Firstly, because I really want to read it. Secondly, because the colour (the pink) reminds me of the colour of ballet shoes.

 

 


 

Tap- A Book With A Cover That is Black-Without-Red

 

Tap dancers, aside from their shiny metal toe caps and heels, typically wear black, which is the inspiration for this prompt. At the moment, I have seen a trend that black books often have red on them so for this section, find one without.


 

 

 

Abandon by Meg Cabot was one of the few black-without-red-books I could find. I also happen to love this retelling of the Seven Pomegranate Seeds myth. It is the first book in a trilogy.

 


 

Streetdance- Your Favourite Hyped Book

 

Streetdance, or hip-hop, is certainly one of the more popular dances in today’s society so let us pick a hyped book to go along with it.


 

 

Throne of Glass is most definitely hyped in the book community and I for one cannot get enough of it. I love it!

 


 

Modern- A Book With No Genre

Modern dance is a form of dance that mixes all sorts of different styles of dance together and doesn’t really fit in a specific category.


 

 

After I was finished reading The Salmon Who Dared to Leap Higher by Ahn Do-Hyun I had no idea how I would make it fit into a box, which is part of its charm.

 

 


 

Mime- A Book That is Not A Novel

Mime is as much acting as it is dancing- expressing yourself with your body. Therefore, I am including it here as a non-conventional element.


 

 

 

The Divine Comedy was a long read, to the extent that I listened to the majority of it as an audiobook which lasted 12 hours. The first section, Inferno is my favourite. This book is written entirely in verse.

 


 

Ballroom Dance- A book with multiple points of view

Ballroom dance is not a form of dance per se but rather an umbrella term for a style of dance including the waltz, the quickstep and the foxtrot among others.


 

5 stars. New favourite.

 

 

Game of Thrones is known for its elaborate plot and multiple point of views, both of which give the plot character, depth and interest.

 

 

 


 

Folk- A Book with a LGBTQIA+ character

Folk dance explores the traditions and outlooks of a nation, or any group of people, and is something that one doesn’t see nearly enough of in the media. Similarly, LGBTQIA+ people are not represented enough, especially the latter part of the acronym. Pick a book with a character that identifies as such.


 

The main character in Parrotfish identifies as transgender. This is the only book I have that deals with the topic and therefore, I think this a very fitting pick for the prompt.

 

 


And that is it my friends! I hope you enjoyed, give it a go yourselves and let me know what you think!

Rogan x

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting tag Rogan. 😀 I hope to do this soon. A lot of answers just popped in my head already 😀

    Like

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy doing this as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great tag idea! I enjoyed it a lot. Saving it for later 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thank you! I hope you have a great time doing it, I sure did. Let me know when you do it and I’ll go and have a look 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! I’ll mention you in the post so that it shows on your dashboard 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. anonymoustallulah says:

          Cool, sounds good.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. amazing! 😀 Thanks so much for tagging me 😀

    Like

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thanks and no problem!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

