Sunday Post 21st September 2015

Hello everyone! It has been a while since I’ve done one of these. I have been neglecting my blog a lot and it’s been annoying me so I am hoping to do better this week. I have a little bit of free time today and I have already posted some things and I can hopefully get some things scheduled incase I get another crazy homework load as I have done the past two weeks. Anyway, without further ado, let us begin this week’s Sunday Post.

Looking Back…

This week I have posted mostly Harry Potter Challenge Posts… (well, actually, they’ve all been Harry Potter Challenges but on the 11th I posted something which was important so I am going to include it here):
I HAVE, HOWEVER, READ QUITE A BIT THIS week, and a lot of good books too, AS YOU CAN SEE:

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

5 stars.

I gave this book 5 stars and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a quick read and a gorgeous, insightful one as well.

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming… This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

5 stars. Reread

I also gave this book 5 stars and enjoyed immensely. This was a reread and the third Sarah J. Maas book I read this month. This is New Adult.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.”

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

4 stars.

I gave this book 4 stars. It is the third Sarah Dessen book I’ve read and I enjoyed it as much as the other too, perhaps a bit more. I do, however, find her storylines a little bit repetitive and slightly predictable.

Unlock your heart and the rest will follow.

Ruby is used to taking care of herself. But now that she’s living with her sister, she’s got her own room, she’s going to a good school, and her future looks bright. Plus there’s an adorable boy next door. Can Ruby learn to open her heart and let him in?

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

4.5 stars

I gave this book 4.5 stars. It was the first graphic novel I have ever read. I did a full review on this book earlier today (which is why it was not in the section of this post where I talk about the posts of the week as I don’t include the Sunday this is posted on) so if you want to hear my thoughts on this book click here.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are. But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.”

So As you can see, a very successful and fulfilling reading week. Now, I also bought a few books (or well, one book, but the others arrived this week so i’ll include them toO… AND I BOUGHT OTHER BOOKS THIS WEEK BUT THEY HAVEN’T ARRIVED SO i wont include them and now i’m rambling…):

The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell

Screen Shot 2015-09-18 at 21.29.47This is a book that I bought this week on my Kindle. I have not yet read it.

In the fifteenth-century kingdom of Sylvania, the prince offers a fabulous reward to anyone who cures the curse that forces the princesses to spend each night dancing to the point of exhaustion. Everyone who tries disappears or falls into an enchanted sleep. Thirteen-year-old Reveka, a smart, courageous herbalist’s apprentice, decides to attempt to break the curse despite the danger. Unravelling the mystery behind the curse leads Reveka to the Underworld, and to save the princesses, Reveka will have to risk her soul.”

Harry Potter & the Chamber of Secrets, Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Read before.

Read before.

Read before.

I bought the new editions of books 2,6 and 7 in the Harry Potter series completing my collection of the books. I’m not going to provide synopsis’ for all of them but I will include the synopsis for the 1st book, Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone:

When a letter arrives for unhappy but ordinary Harry Potter, a decade-old secret is revealed to him that apparently he’s the last to know. His parents were wizards, killed by a Dark Lord’s curse when Harry was just a baby, and which he somehow survived. Leaving his unsympathetic aunt and uncle for Hogwarts, a wizarding school brimming with ghosts and enchantments, Harry stumbles upon a sinister mystery when he finds a three-headed dog guarding a room on the third floor. Then he hears of a missing stone with astonishing powers which could be valuable, dangerous – or both. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

4.5 stars

I finished this book on the day I got, gave it 4.5 stars and posted a full book review on it today which you can find here. I am not including a synopsis for this book as I already provided one when I talked about the books I read.

Looking Forward…

In the coming week i have a lot of interesting posts planned. some i have already posted, the others, well, we’ll see:
  • Harry Potter Challenges Days 21-27
  • Nimona Book Review
  • Fireworks Book Tag (I wasn’t tagged but felt like doing it)
  • Favourite Books Through the Ages (inspired by leannaatc)
  • Top Ten Books on My Autum TBR (Autum=Fall if you didn’t know)
And now here are a few of my reading and blog goals for the upcoming week….
  1. To finish A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. I am currently 22% through the book. It has 1007 pages including the appendix (which I read).
  2. Read 3 more chapters of Where Do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson because really, I should have long finished that by now. I’ve been reading it for months. Literally.
  3. To read 10 fairytales from The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm. Again, this should have been finished ages ago.
  4. To get the TBR page up and running. At the moment the TBR page provides a link to my list that I use to keep track of my TBR. I plan on inserting images into the page so that you can see the covers there and then.

That’s it for this Sunday then! Hope you enjoyed and let me know what your plans for the week are!

Rogan x

P.S. I am also going to a friends Bar Mitzvah on Saturday which I’m really excited for!!!! Wish him virtual congratulations 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. curiousdaisies says:

    I am halfway done with A Clash of Kings myself and i have to admit I’m kinda bored :/ I like your goals for the week. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thank you! Really? It’s not the most fast-paced book, I suppose, but I don’t see myself getting bored any time soon. Hopefully not, anyway 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

