Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (aka My Thoughts On Graphic Novels) Book Review

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 11.40.28

4.5 stars

Nimona is a graphic novel about a monster, a villain and a hero. I’ll let you decide who is who. And no, it is not necessarily who they state it is in the synopsis.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit. (taken from goodreads)

There were lots of good things about this graphic novel (not that I have anything compare it to considering this the first and only one I’ve ever read). I loved the premise, the ending (so sweet!) and the constant plot twists- I definitely didn’t predict the ending- but the thing that stood out to me the most was the characters and their fluid nature and relationships. It was very real despite the circumstances being very, very unrealistic. I loved Lord Ballister as a character and his relationship with Goldenlion was… interesting (I want to say more but I like to keep my reviews spoiler free).

Despite all the good in this story, there were a few faults. The first one might possibly be a trademark of the graphic novel genre but it still annoyed me- sound effects. You know, when they write ‘clack, clack, clack’ or ‘kaboom’ in the images? I don’t mind it a little bit but I found there was a little too much of it in this particular book. The other thing that I didn’t like about this book was how disjointed the beginning was. It was interesting, and it took you directly into the story, but I felt as if a little bit of scene setting would have made for a more…. developed? beginning. It seemed a bit jolted. I must also say that the art style used in graphic novels does not particularly appeal to me.

I did really enjoy this graphic novel and maybe, someday, I will pick up another if the premise intrigues me as it did with this one, but for now, I think I will stick to novels and there gradual development of characters, relationships and the way they show through their words (and possibly illustrations on the side) that I have come to love.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I enjoyed this one as well, but I thought the ending was quite confusing.

    Like

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      I thought the ending was sweet. I suppose it could be a little confusing though 🙂 I think I read it a couple of times (the epilogue that is, not the whole book)!

      Like

Leave a Reply

