Sunday Post 16th-22nd of August

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 10.03.46

Sunday Post is a weekly update meme hosted by Kimba @TheCaffinatedBookReviewer that I have decided to take a part in. For me, the week starts on a Sunday so each Sunday Post will talk about all the things that happened on the previous Sunday until the Saturday and then from the Sunday to the next Saturday. Does that make sense? I think you’ll get the general idea…

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 10.09.07

Howl by Jayme and Jody Morse

This is the first book in the Howl Series which is a YA Fantasy series about werewolves and pack politics. This book free to download from amazon.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 11.18.16

Blood Moon by Jody and Jayme Morse

This is the second book in the Howl series. It is a YA Fantasy about werewolves and pack politics. The first book is free to download from amazon.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 11.18.16

Toot & Puddle by Holly Hobbie

This is a children’s picture book about two pigs who live together. (Human-esque animals is a big thing in picture books) There are other books following the same characters.

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 10.58.39

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 10.26.03

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

This is an adult High Fantasy full of interesting characters, plot twists and more. At the moment, I am on page 351 (42%) and I am loving it. At the moment it is quickly becoming a new favourite!

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 10.37.13

The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm: Translated by Jack Zipes and Illustrated by Andrea Dezsö     This is a collection of the original Grimm stories from the first two volumes before they were toned down for children translated for the first time into English. I am on page 185 (36%) and I’ve been reading it for over a month. So far, though, I am really enjoying the stories- they’re very different.

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 10.41.42

Where do Camels Belong? by Ken Thompson: The Story and Science of Invasive Species

This is a Non-Ficiton book about Native and Alien species and whether humans have a misconceived view of them and whether or not our view or the animals/plants themselves are a threat to biodiversity. I am currently on page 97 (37%) and have been reading this book for about a month. I’ve not picked it up in a while but I am enjoying it.

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 10.50.20

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.02.23

Do any of you use Spotify? I did until the other day when they updated the Terms and Conditions. Whether you are a free or paid member, Spotify now has the right to access your photos, GPS, voice commands and contacts (and contact those contacts) and they also have the right to sell this information to other companies. Here is a link to the Forbes article about it and here is the link to the BBC article which includes Spotify’s ‘apology over confusion etc.’.

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.08.10On a more positive note, on Wednesday I went back to school and so far I have some nice teachers and some of the new students seem to be really nice (I’m in an international school so we have almost 20 new students). I have spent 5 hours doing homework in one night already though due to an artsy project from Drama…

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.11.29

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.17.59This week has brought more in the way of Harry Potter albeit not as much as it should have.

Harry Potter Challenge Day 6

Harry Potter Challenge Day 7

 Harry Potter Challenge Day 8

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.23.30

This week has also brought a tag!!!!

Summertime Madness Book Tag

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.52.01

I would like to mention that none of this is concrete as I have school. I am trying to pre-write a load today but my family spontaneously decided that we’re going out this afternoon and I am also having to pre-write all of my posts for the first week of September too because I am away on a school trip and won’t have internet.

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.53.27

Sex Ed Discrepancies in the US: THIS IS SHOCKING!!!! AND HILARIOUS!!!!

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.17.59

-Harry Potter Challenge Day 9-15 (A question a day)…  You can find the questions over at leannaatc’s blog @Short Story Long if you would like to participate.

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 11.23.30

This week will also bring you the Bookshelf Tag and the Fandom Tag. I was not tagged in either of these but I fancied doing them. The Bookshelf Tag is done and scheduled already!!!! I will also try to do any tags that I am tagged in!!!

Screen Shot 2015-08-23 at 12.07.31

As normal, I will be bringing you a Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and The Bookish). This weeks theme is: Top Ten Books That Would Be on Your Syllabus if You Were Teaching X 101. X being a variable. I have decided to do ‘Diverse Books 101’. Aka- really good books that teach readers and writers what good writing and stories are about and allow new ideas to be formed and analysed. I will also be bringing you information on New Releases, some Book Recommendations, a Mid-Season Reading Update and my September TBR.

And that’s it. Did you like the new meme? Is there anything you want to see next week? Are you shocked about Spotify or the Sex Ed thing? Let me know!!! Also, the reason the dashes are there throughout is to fix formatting. Anyone know how I can make the post have the same format when it’s posted as when I’m writing it? Thanks.

-Rogan x

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh you’ll definitely love Game of Thrones. Great series! I can’t wait for Winds of Winter to release. I need it NOW!!! Hope you have a great week!

    SP
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      It seems soooo good so far. And thank you, I hope you have a great week too!

      Like

  2. Greg says:

    I love Game of Thrones- am doing a rereadathon of the last book now. Is fun. Also Toot and Pudle- I remember that show! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      I’ve never watched the show but my 4th grade teacher used to read us them all the time because she loved them and she gave me that when I left.

      Like

  3. buffywnabe says:

    The Howl series looks interesting, I may have to check it out! Have a great week!
    Check out my Sunday Post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thank you! I enjoyed it myself, I would have a look if you seem interested…. I mean, who can say no to free books, right?

      Like

Leave a Reply

