Reading Habits Tag

on

Hello!! So today is exciting because, for the first time ever, I was tagged to do a tag (I have been nominated for a few things in the past couple of days as I started interacting in the community more but this is the first tag). I was tagged by the lovely Cristina from @My Tiny Obsessions to the Reading Habits Tag so that’s what I’m doing!!!!

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I like to read on my bed with my kindle or in this red cushy beanbag-chair thing if I’m reading a physical book. Sometimes, later at night when my sister has gone to bed I go into the lounge and sit with my mum if my dad isn’t there to keep her company.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Sometimes, often, I will end up using a random piece of paper, a hair pin or a necklace or something to mark my page because I will start a book and not have brought a bookmark with me or be too lazy to get up off my bed and get one (even though I keep them beside my bed for that reason) but my preference is a bookmark and I steadily growing a collection.

3. Can you stop reading whenever or do you have to get to the end of a page/chapter etcetera?

When I’m reading on my own time, I prefer to stop at the end of a chapter or a part in the book that seems to wrap some things up nicely but if I have things to do, I like to finish the page. Sometimes, on public transport or in class or whatever, I will have to put my book down in the middle of the page, which I can do, I just prefer not to.

4. Do you eat/drink whilst reading?

I drink, yes, but unless it sweeties/chocolate and I’m reading on my kindle or phone I don’t eat.

5. Can you/ do you listen to music or watch TV whilst reading?

I can’t watch TV, not even the adverts and read at the same time. If the TV is on I have to remove myself from the room in order to read. Listening to music, however, I can do but only classical or really loud rock. Weird, I know.

6. How many books do you read at a time?

Typically, 3. One non-fiction, one fiction and then one for school or a short story collection. Sometimes more, sometimes less.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

Everywhere!!!! Except the cinema. Or the lunchroom at school because that just doesn’t work. Or at a restaurant. That’s a big no-no.

8. Do you read aloud or in your head?

In my head, except sometimes with plays or classics when I read aloud to help me understand what’s going on. Or if I’m reading to my sister which admittedly doesn’t happen very often…

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages?

During rereads, if I have read the book more than two times already I will skip some of the boring pages/parts but never on the first or second read.

10. Do you mind breaking the spines of your books or do you prefer to keep them looking new?

I like books looking new but I also love the way they look when they are well loved. I don’t really have a problem with bending the spines (the majority of my books are paperback so it inevitable at some point) but ripping the covers really annoys me.

11. Do you write in your books?

Often, yes. Sometimes I am too lazy, sometimes I am too caught up in the book but often I do write in the book (or make a note if I’m reading on my Kindle). I love annotating books which is why, if I am starting to like a book that I am reading for school I like to get my own copy so I can mark it up and annotate it and stick things in it as I please.

I tag:

Sam from @A Blast of Randomness

and

Bianca from @Ultimate Fangirl

8 Comments Add yours

  1. great answers πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. RavenclawSam says:

    Thanks for the tag Rogan! I’ll do it as soon as possible. You seem to be doing loads of tags and challenges lately. That’s great!
    Now I know more about you as a person because I’ve been reading these posts πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      Thank you! All good stuff I hope!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. RavenclawSam says:

        Yes definitely! Quite a lot of our reading habits match, for instance.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. anonymoustallulah says:

          Cool πŸ™‚

          Like

  3. Hey hey! πŸ˜€

    Love your answers on this one. Loving your books at its finest <3. But then again, I get paranoid with broken spines hahahaha. What you said about classical music and really loud rock is true. (Well, with my mom. So not weird, okay?) πŸ˜€

    I have already done this tag though. Here's a link to my answers: https://notoriouslaylow.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/the-reading-habits-tag/

    I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I was happy reading your answers πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anonymoustallulah says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! I will head over and read yours right now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

