One Hundred Names by Cecelia Ahern

I am literally freaking obsessed with this book like crazy obsessed!

This is what I posted on goodreads:

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 02.33.36

More than that, this is one of my new favourite books. It also made me go out the next day (well, I was kind of going already but still) and make me buy four or five, maybe six books by the same author.

And this book is…. (well, I guess you know because of the title of this post but oh well….

ONE HUNDRED NAMES BY CECELIA AHERN!!!!!!

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 10.58.39

This is an adult contemporary novel about a reporter who makes a huge mistake on national television (in Ireland) and suffers through the repercussions of her report gone wrong all along coping with the cancer and death of her friend and employer, Constance, who founded the magazine that she writes for- Etcetera, She leaves behind a list of 100 names and Kitty is determined to find out what links them and in doing so realises things about herself as she does so. Despite Kitty and the majority of the other people in this book being almost old enough to be my parents, I managed to relate to them and the cast of characters was by nature  highly eclectic as one would expect with the storyline.

Now, if my summary of the book is unclear or just not good enough for you (harumph) or you just want to see what the professionals have to say about things here is an official blurb courtesy of goodreads:
The uplifting and thoughtful novel from the uniquely talented author. Everyone has a story to tell… Journalist Kitty Logan’s career has been destroyed by scandal, and she now faces losing the woman who guided her and taught her everything she knew. At her mentor’s bedside, Kitty asks her – what is the one story she always wanted to write? The answer lies in a file buried in Constance’s office: a list of one hundred names. There is no synopsis, nothing to explain what the story is or who these people are. The list is simply a mystery. But before Kitty can talk to her friend, it is too late. With everything to prove, Kitty is assigned the most important task of her life – to write the story her mentor never had the opportunity to. Kitty has to not only track down and meet the people on the list, but find out what connects them. And, in the process of hearing ordinary people’s stories, she uncovers Constance’s – and starts to understand her own…

This book was so delicately pieced together with such real emotions and there was a slight hint of romance, slow-burning and low-key amongst different characters along with intense and unique friendships which all made the book ring very true. The characters show such a wide range of diverse types of people of all sorts of nationalities, hobbies, ages, social and economical backgrounds and moral point of views. I don’t really have anything to critique this book about. I can’t believe I thought I would need the audiobook to be able to get through this.

I feel like I am rambling so much out of my excitement for this book (even though I purposely waited three weeks to write this so that I might calm down a little bit) so I’m just going to shut up with one final sentence. PLEASE READ THIS BOOK AND IF YOU HAVE TELL ME SO THAT I CAN HAVE SOMEONE TO TALK TO ABOUT IT PLEASE.

-Rogan x

“People who believe that they are not interesting, usually are the most interesting of all.”

-Cecelia Ahern, One Hundred Names

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

