The Ultimate Book Tag Book Tag

Wow that title is a mouthful, isn’t it? I sure think so. Anyway, I discovered this book tag over at BookswithBite and you can view that post here. The original tag was made by Chapter Chicks but it was created by their friend Megan. You can check out her goodreads page here.

#1: Do you get sick when reading in the car?

Yes. I do. Badly…. but it doesn’t stop me reading anyway and then I always regret it… One time I made the guide who was helping us around Jordan when we were on holiday pull over so that I could get out of the car for a bit and get fresh air because I felt really sick. When I was eight I also threw up in the car on the way to Rome. I envy people who can read in the car so badly. My dad can and he doesn’t read ever. Not fair.

#2: Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Cecelia Ahern. I’m not sure what it is about her writing but it is addictive- I love it. I read One Hundred Names a little over a week ago and I went out the next day book shopping and bought more of her books. And J.K. Rowling of course. Because she is a wizard. (See what I did there? No? Oh, okay then…)

#3: Harry Potter or Twilight. Give three points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter all the way.

#1: The conclusion is sooooo much better. Breaking Dawn was really long, rushed and I didn’t enjoy it as much as the other books in the series (the best part was Emmett’s teasing and Jasper and Alice of course). In contrast, HP and the Deathly Hallows is my favourite book in the series, pretty much. (But it’s soooo hard to pick- they’re all so good.

#2: See question 2. (AKA: J.K. Rowling is a writing wizard.)

#3: The main female protagonist is far more relatable to me personally. (To the extent that my mum still sometimes refers to me as her little Hermione. We are that alike.)

#4: Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it (besides books).

I do, sort of. I always have a book in my bag, whether it be my school bag or my bag for going out. So the items change and some are pretty self-explanatory but the things that follow my books around are:

  • a spare bookmark just in case
  • a pen for annotating and for writing on my hand to remind me to update goodreads
  • post-it-note page markers and tabs for annotating and finding quotes etc.
  • a notebook incase I come across something I need for a blog post.

#5: Do you smell your books?

Is this even a question? Of course I smell my books…. They smell too good not to.

#6: Books with or without little illustrations? Why?

With. It’s the details that take a book to the next level, the look included.

#7: What book did you love while reading but later realise that it wasn’t as good as you though it was/ the writing wasn’t the best quality?

Twilight, I suppose although I could probably find another book if I really thought about it…. Project ELE also comes to mind.

#8: Do you have ay funny stories from your childhood relating to books? If so, what are they?

First off, I loved BookswithBite’s answer to this question. Second of all, I have two stories to share with you.

#1: I have a picture of me at age 2 picking a book off my mums bookshelf and opening it to the middle and ‘reading’ it. I also have a picture of me actually reading a book in my cot at age under 1.5 (or, well, reading with my mum anyway).

#2: In my primary school we weren’t allowed to read more than 5 years above our reading level and I was reading at a grade 4/5 level in 1st grade so they stopped me from progressing in my reading levels which resulted in me reading Fantastic Mr. Fox about 4 or 5 times in the space of 3 years. Consequently I now hate that book and I don’t like Roald Dahl either (but that is partially due to his writing style as well).

#9: What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare. That thing is under 100 pages (approximately) and the actual play is less than that. I could also say The Matchbox Diary by Paul Fleischman but that looks thicker because of the pages (despite being only 41 pages…).

#10: What is thickest book on your shelf?

Well, excluding dictionaries it would have to be either Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, The Bronze Horseman or Biss Zum Ende der Nacht (Breaking Dawn in german). I’m not sure which and I am too tired to get up and check.

#11: Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself becoming an author in the future?

Hopefully, yes. I write a lot but I have trouble sticking with one book. I always begin to doubt the originality or controversy of the book and start a new one…

#12: When did you get into reading?

See question 8. Aka: I have been a reader forever.

#13: What is your favourite classic?

I have two that I cannot choose between:

Romeo and Juliet (Shakespeare, obviously) and The Little White Horse (by Elizabeth Goudge).

#14: In school was your best subject English/ Language Arts?

Well, first of all I am still in school but it is one of my best subjects. I have almost straight A+’s (except for the one A I got in poetry). But I have other classes which are like that too.

DISCLAIMER: I DO NOT MEAN TO SOUND BRAGGY HERE. I WORK HARD IN MY CLASSES AND I HAVE ALWAYS FOUND SOME ACADEMIC WORK EASY. THERE ARE THINGS THAT I AM BAD AT AND THERE IS ALWAYS ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT. PLEASE NO HATE AND I AM SORRY IF YOU FEEL INSULTED BY THIS.

#15: What would you do if you received a book as a gift that you had already read and hated?

I tend not to hate books but I would first of all ask if my mum/sister wanted it (assuming it was not one that they got me) and if they didn’t or it wasn’t suitable I would offer it to a friend who I thought might like it (just because I didn’t like it doesn’t mean someone else wouldn’t) or I’d just sell it/give it away. Not happened to me yet though.

#16: What is a lesser known series that you think is similar to Harry Potter and/or The Hunger Games?

Well, I can’t think of anything but the Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage (which I love) was compared a lot to Harry Potter on goodreads (I don’t personally agree, though).

#17: What is a bad habit you have whilst filming besides rambling?

Obviously this is a question for booktube so I am changing this to:

#17: What is a phrase/ word you use a lot whilst writing blog posts?

First of all, and, well, so, well okay then to name a few.

#18: What is your favourite word?

Pumpernickel. Because it sounds fun.

#19: Are you a nerd, a dork or a dweeb? Or all of the above?

What’s a dweeb?

#20: Vampires of faeries?

Depends on the vampires/ faeries. Generally speaking, faeries.

#21: Shapeshifters or Angels?

Angels because I love angels. But I like Shapeshifters too.

#22: Spirits or Werewolves?

Werewolves. Although, I suppose it depends on the spirit.

#23: Zombies or Vampires?

Vampires for two reasons: I cannot think of a single book I have read with Zombies and because I don’t like the idea of brain-eating monsters.

#24: Love triangles or forbidden love?

Depends on the relationships I suppose but usually forbidden love.

And now, for the last question:

#25: Full on romance or action with a few love scenes dotted around?

It completely depends on my mood.

I hope you enjoyed this tag. I am not tagging anybody as this is quite an old tag and I feel like most people will have done it already but if you want to do it feel free, just leave a link in a comment and link back to me please! Also, is the cover photo amazing or not?

-Rogan x

Leave a Reply

