New Releases: Alive and The Gender Police: A Diary

#1: Alive by Scott Sigler

This is the first book in the science fiction Generations Trilogy in which a group of teenagers wake up in a corridor with no idea of who they are or what they’re doing there.

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

(taken from goodreads)

This book was released on the 14th of July. To purchase this book from amazon.co.uk click here. This book has an average star-rating of 3.89/5 on goodreads.

#2 The Gender Police: A Diary by Ros Ball and James Millar

This is a diary that tackles the issue of gender conformation and stereotyping.

The ‘Gender Police: A Diary’ is an intriguing and insightful record of how people treat girls and boys differently.
When Ros Ball and James Millar’s son was born in 2010 they instantly felt people treated him differently to his big sister. Inspired by the 1980s best-selling diary ‘There’s a Good Girl’ and driven by 21st century technology, they started to tweet about the differences they experienced. What began as an attempt to retain their sanity in a gender obsessed world became a life changing experiment about gender identity.
In this collection of their online writing they’ve brought together thoughts on how society, family and even themselves, are part of the ‘gender police’ that limit kids’ lives, along with ideas for how we can all work to break these stereotypes together.

(taken from goodreads)

This book was published on the 10th of June and is currently only available as an ebook. To purchase this book from amazon.co.uk click here. This book has an average star-rating of 4.67/5 on goodreads.

I am very excited to get my hands on both of these books. You?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s