Mid-July Update and Summer Goals

So, at the beginning of every season I create a ‘got-to-read’ pile for the season. I check in on myself half-way through the season to see how I’m doing- like I do with my monthly TBRs. I have decided to also now make some broader goals, or specific, for each season and as it is still early in to summer I am going to have some for this season. My mid-season update will happen in the middle of August but for now, here is my July update and my summer reading goals.

-Rogan x

First of all, I have decided no longer to do monthly goals but do the seasonal ones instead as it gives me more freedom to read what I want and put whatever books I want into my TBR. So yeah, no more goals, although I will still be reading the books for the goals!

Next, there were two books on my TBR at the beginning of the month which are no longer on my TBR but I have not read. These books are books 4 and 5 in the Shade of Vampire series by Bella Forrest- A Blaze of Sun and A Gate of Night (I would put in pictures but my computer is messing up now for some reason and the add media thing won’t work…). Anyway, the reason these books are no longer on my TBR is quite simple. I started reading the fourth book on the plane on the way home from Rhodes and I found that I was no longer hugely interested in the storyline. If there were only a couple of books more I probably would have stuck it out but there are currently 14 books, with, I believe, more to come. So I’m not going to commit myself to that anymore. Therefore, 2 down 🙂 , 11 to go 😦

Okay, then as far as the TBR books that I have read…

-Silver by Chris Wooding

I read this book at the beginning of the month and did enjoy it although it gave me a few nightmares…

-Fairest by Marissa Meyer

I read this book on my holiday in Rhodes and really enjoyed it. Now I just have to wait until November for Winter to come out… 😦

-Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

-Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

I enjoyed the second and third books in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy just as much as the first and I love how it ended on a very real note. (You will know what I mean if you have read them.)

4 more down, 7 books left to read.

Consensus: Okay. I am not quite halfway through my TBR for this month but I have two read-a-thons coming up so a fair few of my TBR books will be getting read during those periods.

Now, as far as other books I have read…

-Loveblood by M. J. O’Shea

I really enjoyed this book- just as well, too- I stayed up until 3am in the morning reading it.

-Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

This book was on my Summer Got-to-Read list so I am getting somewhere which is good! I also did a review on this book which you can find here.

-The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson

This book was on my Summer Got-to-Read list so I am getting somewhere which is good! I also did a review on this book which you can find here. The second book in this series came out earlier this month but I am going to wait for it to come out in paperback next year.

-Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I read this on the plane to Rhodes and enjoyed it. I didn’t love it but I heard that the series gets better so I am going to pick up the second book in the near future and continue on with the series.

-The Matchbox Diary by Paul Fleischman

This is a picture book which arrived in the post last night when I was in a bit of a reading slump so I read it as it was short and it got be right out of it. It was short, beautifully illustrated and contained a really intriguing story. I have done a review on this book which you can find here.

So I have read a total of 9 books so far this month and almost halved my TBR. I would say I am doing pretty well.

Books I am currently reading:

-Magic Flutes by Eva Ibbotson

Also known as ‘The Reluctant Heiress’ this is a Historical Fiction Romance novel written for adults about Austrian royalty and a man born an orphan, raised a boy and grown a millionaire. I am reading this book on my kindle and am 9% through.

-The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm, Translated by Jack Zipes

This is a bind up of the first two volumes of the original fairy tales written by the Brothers Grimm. I am reading it in little chunks and plan on finishing it by the end of August.

Now onto my summer goals.

Summer Goal #1: To read all of my summer got-to-read books. This is kind of an obvious one but I thought I would include it anyway. If you are wondering what those books are click here to find out.

Summer Goal #2: To read all of my library books. Again obvious.

Summer Goal #3: To participate in all of the Little Book Club Read-a-longs (Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is the July/August one. Not sure about September/October yet).

Summer Goal #4: To read all of the books on my TBR each month.

Summer Goal #5: To finish Magic Flutes by Eva Ibbotson. I am currently reading it and it’s on my Kindle and a bit more of a slow-burner so to motivate myself to read it, I am making it a goal.

That’s that!

Leave a Reply

