Tag Tuesday: The Book Combo Tag

Hello! Welcome to another Tag Tuesday! This was pre-written on the 1st of July so please keep that in mind when reading- I will have read books since!!!!! In fact, a lot of the posts you will be seeing lately are pre-written because I’m going on a lot of holidays! Hope you enjoy! Also, did anyone else know that Ransom Riggs and Tahereh Mafi are married? I didn’t! That’s so cool!

This tag was created by JessetheReader on Booktube and you can watch his video here. I was not tagged to do this tag.

#1. What two authors would you like to see put their writing skills together to write a book?

So, first up are two authors that wrote very similar books- Kate O’Hearn (who wrote Valkyrie) and Francesca Simon (who wrote The Sleeping Army). Kate O’Hearn weaves wonderful worlds of friendship and heartache and Francesca Simon injects wit and humour into every sentence that you read without losing the significant meaning behind the subject and because of this I think that they would make an amazing team.

#2. What is your favorite author collaboration? Whether it be a short story collection or just a book that the authors worked together on.

My favourite author collaboration- bearing in mind that I haven’t read that many is by far Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. I haven’t yet read Off the Page but I intend to do so soon. The writing in this book was gorgeous and seamless. As mother and daughter their ideas are very harmonious and in synch, which is nice. I have a sneaking suspicion that Jodi Picoult wrote it but I know that Samantha Van Leer came up with the idea. Maybe she also had a hand in writing it? I also hate that it is compared to Twilight on the back of the book. It is nothing like Twilight, at least in my mind.

#3. If you could combine two stories and make them a book of their own, which would they be? & what would the reworked title be?

The two stories I would combine would be the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor and the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Daughter of Smoke and Bone could be like a behind-closed-doors society in Throne of Glass where the magic hadn’t gone away somehow… The reworked title could still be Throne of Glass or it could be Throne of Smoke and Bone.

#4. What two characters from different books do you ship?

The two characters I ship are Cress from the Lunar Chronices by Marissa Meyer and Jude from I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. Both girls are very intelligent but in different ways and both have baggage, again different but also similar enough that I think they would be able to support each other. I also think Jude would come to like Cress’ enjoyment at the world around her as well as her quick brain and Cress would appreciate Jude’s some-what-cynical nature and passion for doing the right thing as well as her creative spirit. I think both girls are quite dependable, too.


#5. What two worlds from different stories would you like see come together to be one epic world?
The two world I would combine would be the worlds from the Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage and the Fabulous duology by Caro King. I would like to take the caste system and the necromancers and the bogs from the Septimus Heap books and the dissapearing world with experimentation from the Seven Sorcerers.

#6. What duology/trilogy/series would you have liked to see be combined in to one book?

The Matched trilogy by Ally Condie. I like Matched and I liked Reached but Crossed was too long. I’m not sure about one book but perhaps two? Or rewrite Crossed….

And yeah, that’s about it! Do you agree with my choices? What would you have chosen? I tag Nicole at alwayinneverland and anyone else who reads this and wants to do it! Please leave a link below if you do- I would love to see it!

-Rogan x

Leave a Reply

