The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson: Book Review

I just wanted to quickly mention before I begin this book review that I have changed my posting schedule as it was just too crazy. I will still be posting multiple times a week just possibly not quite as often and I will be much more relaxed about it. Manic Monday is staying the same, so you will get some new release information every Monday still and I’m also still doing Tag Tuesday and Top Ten Tuesday so you should get two Tuesday post minimum. What has changed then? I am now going to do book reviews on Thursdays, as I will have schoolwork and I have a life off of the internet and can not afford to write and edit a post three days in a row during the school week as depending on the post they can take me 30 minutes to 3 hours to complete. On Saturdays I will do any of your requests that don’t fit in with any other categories and if there are none then I will do something completely random!!!!!! Oops…. that wasn’t exactly quick but it was important so now, without further ado, let us begin with the book review.

-Rogan x

By the way, on goodreads this has 4 stars as they do not do half stars.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson is YA fantasy that I really enjoyed, it didn’t blow my mind and I did have a few problems with it but my enjoyment levels were very high. It was reminiscent of Throne of Glass, not in a copycat type of way but it had a similar feel to the book although the stories are completely different. There are lots of mixed feelings that I came across when scrolling through the goodreads reviews for this book. One of the most common complaints was that this book lacked anything unoriginal and that the main characters was overtly selfish or silly and the story could have been easily avoided. I’m sorry but this girl is 17. Would you have liked to get married at 17? To a guy you hadn’t met? And okay, Lia isn’t perfect, but that’s okay because she is HUMAN and I’m pretty sure you are too and that 90% of the HUMAN population would not be okay with just being married off and ‘going along with it’. At least not now. Besides, all stories could ‘easily be avoided’. The author didn’t have to write them did they? Also, another complaint was about love triangles. Okay, I get that love triangles are way overdone but don’t judge a book just because there is a love triangle in it. These things do actually happen sometimes and sometimes, just sometimes they are executed wonderfully (I’m not saying that this book did so but don’t give a low rating and/or review and have your first reason be ‘there is a love triangle’, at least say that it was bad, if you hated it so much and have evidence to back yourself up). Now that my little rant is over, let’s get on with the rest of the review.

“It can take years to mold a dream. It takes only a fraction of a second for it to be shattered.” 

I tried to write a summary of this book twice. I couldn’t and I don’t know why but here is the goodreads summary!

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance. Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

“Sometimes the enemy is just one person who will bring down a kingdom.”

Okay, let’s just start by looking at the cover for a second. Do you see it? If you don’t think that is a gorgeous cover then… um, I don’t really know what to tell you. So, props to whoever designed it. Now, onto the actual story. Lia. Oh Lia. She was annoying and childish and hilarious and perfect for the story. She liked simple things and she was thoughtful and she was normal. Which a lot of people hated because she is a princess. But she is human too and that is what I like. She is not the most responsible of people or the most reliable but she has a good heart, despite being shallow at times (I mean ‘I wish to inspect you’, really? Really? That was a bit too basic, don’t you think?- You’ll only get what I’m referring to if you’ve read the book). Pauline is slightly naive but I like her kindness. My favourite character though was Griz, although Eben comes in a close second. (I won’t say more because SPOILERS.) And Rafe and Kaden…. no comment. I don’t want to ruin the mystery for you.

Apart from the characters, I liked the idea of our progressive society coming before theirs when theirs seems to be like the middle ages in some ways. It just interested me. Also, despite the plot being, admittedly, somewhat unoriginal, I somehow managed to get really invested in the characters. Don’t ask me how. I also loved how Pearson managed to make me realise how my brain does stereotype characters in books (not as much in real life- doesn’t apply as much there). If you haven’t read the book you won’t know what I am referring to. If you have read the book and still have no idea what I am talking about and want to know… send me an email at anonymoustallulah@gmail.com .

Overall, the plot and world weren’t the most original but I really enjoyed it nevertheless.

“Ancients pulled metals more precious than gold from the center of the earth – They spun into giant lacy wings that flew them to the stars and back
“Is that what you’d do with wings?”
She shook her head “No, I’d fly to the stars, but I’d never come back”

There were two main things that frustrated me in this book. The love triangle, which, despite not being bad, could do with a bit of polishing up as it made me feel awkward at some points, which I prefer them not to do. I thought it was a good addition to the story, though. Another thing I didn’t like about this book was the fact that it was just another book. A very good one and highly enjoyable but for some reason it was very similar to a lot of other YA fantasy. I am currently writing my own fantasy novel and I am starting to appreciate how difficult it is too come up with an idea nobody else has used that you really want to write about. Especially when you read a lot. I find that I have to sort of mix up a load of different ideas and just try and add my own original flare to it, or at least that is what I am doing currently (I am still in the very beginning of writing the story). Anyway, my point is, I don’t begrudge this book the similarity to other books but it is still something I am aware of. Maybe it becomes more original in the sequel? Who knows? The end definitely got more exciting.

 “Maybe there was no one way to define it. Maybe there were as many shades of love as the blues of the sky.”

To see more great quotes from this book click here. Some may contain spoilers.

To see amazon.co.uk reviews for this book or to buy it click hereIt says it is not currently out in paperback yet but I got it last month in paperback so I’m not sure what is up with that… (£7.15 on publishing date of this post: US $11.07)

To buy this book from amazon.com click here. It is out in paperback on the American site ($8.28 on publishing date of this post: GB £5.35)

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

