July TBR and Monthly Goals 2015

So, as you may or may not know, when I started getting back into reading in May I created challenges, three for every month starting July, which would help me broaden my horizons, give some direction for my TBR and help me get through some of my unread books. Here it is- the first ever TBR-AND-MONTHLY-GOALS!

Goal 1: Listen to an Audiobook

One Hundred Names by Cecelia Ahern

This book is an adult contemporary about a journalist who learns about all these different people’s lives in commeration of her boss’ death and in turn learns about her own. I own a physical copy of this book but I still need to buy the audiobook. This book is my TBR book for the Weekend Read-a-thon that I am participating in this month. Click here for more information about the Read-a-thons I will be participating in this month.

Goal 2: Read a Book without a Person on the Cover

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

22896551

      This book is a YA contemporary about a girl who finds out that she is intersex. This book is a library book which I need to return next month. This book is not in a TBR for a Read-a-thon and I hope to get to it when I have some downtime. I also hope to do an article/ post on gender identity as well as sexual identity in the next two months. Click here to see that article and click here to see my article on what intersex is. (these links will become available when the posts are finished.)

Goal 3: Read a Book that is not a Novel

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

This is a novella in the Lunar Chronicles series which follows Queen Levanna before she became Queen. The first book in the Lunar Chronicles series is Cinder. This series is fantastical science fiction. This book is on my reading list for the Week Read-a-thon that I am participating in this month.

A Blaze of Sun and A Gate of Night by Bella Forrest           

These are books 5 and 6 in a 14+ part series about Vampires. The first book in the series is A Shade of Vampire. In these books Vampires are sort of the bad guys but also sort of not. It is too complicated to explain! These books are both on my TBR for the Week Read-a-thon which I am participating in this month.

         I have read the first four books in this series already and thoroughly enjoyed them although the first book is perhaps my favourite of all of them. This book also has a spinoff/companion trilogy called A Shade of Kiev which focuses on a different family of vampires in the same world. I have not yet read them but I will eventually.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

      This book is the first in a four-part science fiction series about a world where on you sixteenth birthday you become ‘pretty’ and live in a paradise that turns about to be a lot darker than it seems.This book is not on any specific TBR but I hope to get to it when I have some time to relax.

Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

   These are books 2 and 3 in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy which is a fantasy series that follows art student Karou as she discovers who she is and how her world works. The first book is called Daughter of Smoke and Bone. These books look at the relationships between the Chimera and the Seraphim and explore what it means to be bad and to be evil. These books are both on my TBR for the Week Read-a-thon which I am participating in this month.

  I read the first book in this trilogy as a library book in June and I really enjoyed it and immediately took to amazon and bought these two but they arrived near the end of the month and so I did not get a chance to read them. These books are also set in Prague which makes me love them a hundred times more because boy am I

obsessed with Prague. Just being in the city is invigorating to me. Is that strange? Let me know if you feel that way about somewhere. My mum feels like that about London but she’s pretty weird so that’s not saying much in terms of my normalcy.

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

This is a YA contemporary novel about a girl who is just living her life with a few dramatic curve balls thrown here and there. This is the second book that I am reading by Sarah Dessen (not including the one that I read when I was nine) and I have three others to read and then I will go out and buy the rest of her books. Much like Sarah J. Maas she is an auto-buy author for me. This book is not on my TBR for anyread-a-thons this month but I hope to get to it soon.

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

This is a YA contemporary about teenage girls and anorexia nervosa. This book definitely comes with trigger warnings to those who have eating disorders or are recovering from one. This is one my TBR for the 24 Hour Read-a-thon that I am participating in this month. Click here to find out what anorexia nervosa is and click here to see how you can help and for more information.

Silver by Chris Wooding

This is a science fiction standalone novel about a disease carried by a bite. This is supposed to be horror and I might not be reading this just before bed. Especially since I have a fear of bugs. At least they’re not arachnids. I don’t think I would be able to read it if they were. This is a library book that I must return towards the end of August. This is not on any specific TBRs but I am actually just about to start it! You cant track my progress in this book through my goodreads profile here.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

This novel deals with the controversial and triggering concept of suicide through tape recordings left for a boy by a girl who committed suicide explaining the thirteen reasons why she did so. The boy is one of those thirteen reasons. This is on my TBR for the 24 Hour Read-a-thon that I am participating in this month.

Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross

This is a historical fiction about a girl who moves to Paris and when she runs out of money applies for a particularly strange job- she is hired by rich families to ‘look plain’ to make them look more beautiful. This is a library book due back next month and is not on any specific TBRs.

And that’s it! What are you planning to read this month? Have you read any of the book? Did you like them?

-Rogan x

P.S. Sorry if the formatting is confusing it won’t go normal? Do you like it this way?

Leave a Reply

