Book Reccomendations June 2015

Hello! This is something I want to start doing regularly- like once every two months or so: giving you book recommendations! You will be able to find this as well as any future recommendations under the category ‘book recommendations’!

I am recommending books by age group but feel free to read all of them- they’re all really great!

Children:  7-9 years

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 23.10.55Born to Run by Michael Morpurgo

I am not generally a fan of Michael Morpugo for reasons which elude even me but this book was amazing. It was incredibly sad but it was still acceptable for mature 7-9 year olds (it even says 7+ on the back). This is a wonderful book for children and adults alike and I cannot recommend it enough! It is realistic fiction about a boy and his dog.

Middle Years: 9-12 (Middle Grade)

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 23.17.16Rose by Holly Webb

This stunning middle grade novel is the first in a series (although it is unnecessary to read the rest of the books) about an orphan girl in historical London where magic crackles in the air. This story is full of love, strong characters and heartwarming moments! It is a fantastical historical fiction. I actually won it as a prize from my library when I was in 11. I got to choose from about 50 books and I chose this one purely based on the cover (the picture doesn’t fully do it justice) and I definitely do not regret it! Amazing book for all ages but younger readers especially!

Young Adult: 13-17 AND Adult: 18+

Usually I would classify these as two separate sections (although the adult novels are certainly suitable for teenagers too) but this time around both of the books I am suggesting are both YA and Adult novels!

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 23.25.58A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson

This is a historical romance which incorporates elements of dance. The characters are wonderfully diverse and there are some references into the classics which may require some research! It is one of my favourite adult novels of all time! Yes, I said adult! Some of you may know of this book as YA but it was originally published as an adult novel but due to popularity with teenage audiences was recently republished for the YA genre!

Screen Shot 2015-06-29 at 23.31.54The Enchanted Riddle by Charlotte Randel

This is also a fantastical historical fiction about an orphan and it also has to do with dance ambitions but I assure you- it is a wonderfully unique book! And it has far too little recognition in my opinion! One of my favourite standalone novels of all time.

I hope you enjoy some of these books- please, if you read them, make sure to comment and let me know what you thought and like to a review, if you make one!

-Rogan x

Leave a Reply

