Bookmarks and Laziness

on

Hello Again!

This is probably not going to give you a good first impression of me but I did say I was going to be honest with you, right? Guess starting on a bad note isn’t necessarily awful……..

Anyway, are any of you readers? Yes? No? Maybe? Well, if you are, you have almost certainly encountered this #ReaderProblems problem. Bookmarks. Yes, they are great, absolute life savers, in fact. But Bookmarks are my first #ReaderProblems problem.

Now, this little rant (sort of?) that I am about to go on was inspired by something that happened. Actually, this whole blog was, but I’ll get to that at some other time. Now, for the incident.

So, I had just finished my book (Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi- that is one difficult name to spell) and I had picked up another one, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, which I had checked out from my library. I lay down on my bed and started reading. I was wholly engrossed in the book when I stumbled across something that made me have to put the book down and take to Goodreads to talk about it. The book was set in Prague! You don’t know this about me yet, but I have a small obsession with Prague. I went there for about three days last October and it was like a drug to me- I was addicted instantly. Well, not really like a drug- it made me feel happy and more awake. And just better! So a good drug? I don’t know… but I think you get what I mean. Anyway, I’m getting sidetracked…. What was I talking about. Oh yes, putting down my book.

So, I was about to flip to the back of the book and get my bookmark to hold my place when I realised… I didn’t have a bookmark. I was not feeling like getting up and walking over to my bookshelf to get a bookmark, even if the bookshelf is only like a metre from my bed. I mean, what if I lost my train of thought?

So I just left my book lying open, pages towards the bed, and took to the internet to talk about my feelings. And that’s how my book still is now, an hour later. Lying next to me on my bed as I type to you.

So yeah, #ReaderProblems problem number one is officially….. NOT HAVING A BOOKMARK WHEN YOU NEED ONE. (This also applies when you’re at work or school and start a new book and realise that you didn’t bring a bookmark with you and end up using a piece of paper instead.)

-Signing off, Rogan

P.S. If you like this, I am thinking of doing a sort of series called #ReaderProblems. If I make any other ones you will be able to find them under the readerproblems tag or under the category #ReaderProblems.

Leave a Reply

